Beach

Calm turquoise water, silver sand, a few rocks. Where in the world is this?

DSC_2971Answer: 7,000ft up in the Swiss Alps at the southern end of the Saas Valley. This is the Mattmark Reservoir. The colour of the water reminds me of the Canadian Rockies. You don’t often see water this colour in the Alps. Or perhaps it exists more commonly than I realize and I just haven’t been in the right places.

This was a beautiful spot on the edge of the reservoir. Taken in isolation it became simple strands of contrasting colour and also virtually devoid of scale.

About LensScaper

Hi - I'm a UK-based photographer who started out 45+ years ago as a lover of landscapes, inspired by my love of outdoor pursuits: skiing, walking and climbing. Now retired, I seldom leave home without a camera and I find images in unexpected places and from different genres. I work on the premise that Photography is Art and that creativity is dependent on the cultivation of 'A Seeing Eye'. I'm not averse to manipulating images to produce derivatives that may sometimes be far removed from the original.
This entry was posted in Swiss Alps - Summer and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Beach

  1. Love this Andy. The colour of the water is beautiful 🙂

  2. What a stunning place Andy. Just gorgeous.

    • LensScaper says:

      Thanks very much Edith. This reservoir is about 2miles long and you can walk all round it in superb scenery. But there is only this one little ‘beach’ like this!

  3. oneowner says:

    This is a really nice landscape/seascape image, Andy. Yet it’s borderline abstract and I like that.

    • LensScaper says:

      Thanks Ken. You’ve noted the ‘abstract’ quality to this quite rightly. It’s what really attracted me to this particular image. I shot quite a few images here, but this was the one that seemed to work best – stratifying the colours and textures.

  4. What a surprise—and a very nice photograph, especially seen large. I like that you took this as an abstract. I think it points out what is probably the most interesting feature of the spot.

  5. Beautiful shade of turquoise on this one! And I like how the ripples in the water are similar to the ripples in the sand,

  6. This image just goes to prove that there are extraordinary or unusual images to be found anywhere, as long as you are willing to look. Who would have thought that the Swiss Alps would provide such a perfect beach scene.

  7. Beautiful image Andy. The color of the water is just stunning.

  8. Phillip says:

    Amazing color. Great shot Andy!

  9. ehpem says:

    Great shot Andy. I love all those stata and the lack of scale as you note.
    And that really is sand! I had it pegged as snow, but I see in the larger shot that it must be a sand dune, probably related to the reservoir draw down (we get that effect here around reservoirs in windy places).

    • LensScaper says:

      Thanks Ehpem – it is incredibly fine silt or sediment, and if I remember correctly it is the silt within the water that contributes to that wonderful turquoise colour that is so reminiscent of lakes I’ve seen in BC

Comments are closed.