Curves and Spheres

Saas Fee this past summer was home to a display of magnificent sculptures by the talented Swiss Sculptor Housi Knecht. The sculptures were scattered around the village but several were close to the hotel in which we were staying.

Composed of aluminium and steel, the hall marks of Housi’s work are curving sinuous lines and the inclusion of spheres that act as accents. The results are dynamic, elegant, and have a powerful sensuous flow to them.

This is one sculpture that particularly attracted my attention, and which encapsulates those qualities. Unfortunately I do not have the title to it.

_DS76439_colI experimented also with a B&W conversion that adds a little edge and mystery to the athletic animal.

_DS76439Finally I looked into a sphere close-up and saw myself – and predictably, being a photographer, I had to capture the scene. Thankfully for all of us, I am largely hidden behind the camera!

_DS76515_crop

About LensScaper

Hi - I'm a UK-based photographer who started out 45+ years ago as a lover of landscapes, inspired by my love of outdoor pursuits: skiing, walking and climbing. Now retired, I seldom leave home without a camera and I find images in unexpected places and from different genres. I work on the premise that Photography is Art and that creativity is dependent on the cultivation of 'A Seeing Eye'. I'm not averse to manipulating images to produce derivatives that may sometimes be far removed from the original.
This entry was posted in Art and Scultpure and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Curves and Spheres

  1. I like the second image but but I can’t help but be reminded of the metal ring puzzles from when I was a child where you had to figure out how to separate the rings! 😉

    • LensScaper says:

      That’s ruined it! LOL! Yes, now you mention it, I know exactly what you mean. Actually seeing it in 3D, in the flesh, it is a beautiful object and the spheres then stand out purely as embellishments

  2. Well done Andy. I really like the black and white. It suits the image.

  3. Len Saltiel says:

    Love the second image with the great textures Andy. Very cool sculpture.

  4. The b&w is very good – it puts more of the emphasis on the sculpture.

  5. seekraz says:

    Very nice, Andy…and I love the self-portrait. 😉

  6. oneowner says:

    I like the black and white version, too. It brings out the texture in the piece and, being stainless, it doesn’t require color very much. I like the selfie, too.

  7. munchow says:

    Looks like an interesting sculpture. I don’t know anything about Housi Knecht – might have to check him out. I really like the black and white version, it makes something special out of the sculpture.

    • LensScaper says:

      Thanks Otto. You can follow the link to Housi Knecht’s website in the post. I am always a little nervous about manipulating other people’s Art when I process an image because I am imparting qualities to it that might not be in keeping with their own concepts.

  8. Phillip says:

    Beautifully done Andy!

  9. ShimonZ says:

    beautiful images… a shame that your face was covered by the camera on the globe though.

    • LensScaper says:

      Thanks Shimon – Unavoidable that my face was obscured. And I didn’t want to ruin the picture!

      • ShimonZ says:

        Actually, it is possible, and not as difficult as you might think. What you do is attach a strap to the camera, and adjust it so that you can hang it from your neck at about chest height. Then when you see something like the globe, bou make all of the adjustments on the camera manually. You use a small f stop, and hold the camera to your chest aimed at the globe. Don’t zoom too close to the subject of your shot, and press the button. You will see yourself in the globe, with the camera on your chest. It would make a charming photo!

  10. ehpem says:

    I like the self portrait! And, I like the black and white version of the sculpture a bit better – it brings out some detail in the shiny parts, like the little balls.

Comments are closed.