Ploughed Up

The seasons come and the seasons go. Colour is starting to drain from the landscape as the harvest is reaped and the fields are ploughed up ready to be re-seeded.

Last week we returned to Ivinghoe Beacon, our favourite ‘hill’on the edge of the Chiltern Hills, to look out over the surrounding land.  Land in the process of change. There were green fields, golden fields – one where a combine was actively working as we watched – and fields bereft of colour, where harvesting had been completed.

The Soil around Ivinghoe is chalky and so the soil has a strangely grey colour to it, not the rich brown we are more accustomed to seeing.

_DS77380_cropThe image above is of a vestigial hedgerow I have photographed previously when it was surrounded by fields of lush green in early Spring. On this occasion there was minimal colour in the soil. I was tempted to de-saturate the fields completely, but when I tried that I realized how important that subtle colour was to the success of the image.

Below is the almost exact same view taken in April this year, or click here to see the original image posted with a slightly different composition.

Please click on the images to see larger, higher quality versions. It’s well worth it.

_DS75203

About LensScaper

Hi - I'm a UK-based photographer who started out 45+ years ago as a lover of landscapes, inspired by my love of outdoor pursuits: skiing, walking and climbing. Now retired, I seldom leave home without a camera and I find images in unexpected places and from different genres. I work on the premise that Photography is Art and that creativity is dependent on the cultivation of 'A Seeing Eye'. I'm not averse to manipulating images to produce derivatives that may sometimes be far removed from the original.
This entry was posted in Landscapes and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

30 Responses to Ploughed Up

  1. Mona says:

    Great landscapes…….

  2. Wonderful! 🙂 Fields through the seasons can make interesting photo sets. Will we be seeing a winter shot of the same scene? I remember shooting a harrow ploughed field on the Marlborough Downs which is also chalky and it made a really interesting photograph. Sadly it was pre digital, otherwise I’d share it with you. Best wishes…

  3. Great shots! I love the colours in the first one especially 🙂

  4. seekraz says:

    Fascinating images, Andy…the undulations of the hills are a bit more apparent in the gray…and the hedgerow is quite striking in the gray, as well. Very nice.

  5. Two wonderful simple graphic images, Andy. The textures and overall grey tone of the first one is simple superb.

  6. oneowner says:

    The first image is extraordinary. The color is so striking against the neutral background.

    • LensScaper says:

      Thanks Ken. I ran this through CS5 and then through one of the very simple presets in Topaz Adjust. It just brought a little bit of colour into the greyness of the fields.

  7. theaterwiz says:

    Great eye to get these lines and make the shot so compelling!

  8. Gracie says:

    Wow! These photographs are amazing! Love that strip of color on the first image.

  9. Incredible what a change of season does but I do love the first one. It has a very abstract quality about it.

  10. The top one is exceptional…I keep coming back to it…stunning photo Andy

    • LensScaper says:

      Many thanks James. To tell the truth, I hesitated to take this image when I looked at these grey fields. But back home when I tweaked the image a little in Photoshop it just seemed to come alive.

  11. I love how the seasons can change the look of a scene. Nice work getting some different views here Andy.

  12. Fascinating to see the difference with the seasons. I love the simple graphic look, combined with the interesting textures in each one.

  13. Chillbrook says:

    Superb image Andy!!

  14. Wow, what a different image from the green field. I like it very much. The earth has a “quilted” look. Really nice.

    • LensScaper says:

      Thanks George. In its current state this field doesn’t look a very profitable proposition for growing a crop, it will be interesting to see what it looks like again next Spring

  15. Meanderer says:

    What a wonderful and fascinating image the first one is. I like the golden strip along the hedgerow. We are on chalk here in Wiltshire so I recognise those grey-white coloured fields!

    • LensScaper says:

      Thanks very much for your comment. I remember chalk fields from down your way too. I’m looking forward to getting back to this location again. Looking down on it from the top of the Beacon gives a bird’s eye view of the countryside.

Comments are closed.