A fountain shall come forth

We stepped off the plane at Heathrow Terminal 5, collected our bags and walked out of the building and this scene greeted us. My wife said: ‘get a picture, get a picture’. I didn’t need a second invitation.

IMG_4949_BWThis image follows on from my last post (if you haven’t seen it, click here). There will be many of you who will look at the way these men are dressed and recognize that they are Orthodox Jews. How very strange that the first people I should spot on touch down were these two men. But stranger still is the fact that we encountered many families in similar dress in the Saas Fee valley.

IMG_4949Carrying a SLR camera inevitably leads to a number of encounters (it happens on all holidays, and I suspect to many of you too) where people approach with their cameras, and via sign language or verbal enquiries in a variety of languages, ask me to take their pictures. And as a result I had several conversations, finding that a lot of these families were from North London. I asked them if there was a special reason why they came to the Saas Valley, having heard from our Travel Company’s Rep that she believed there was a link between the Jewish community and the valley dating back to WW2. No-one could confirm the existence of a link – it was, they said, simply that word of mouth had spread through their community that Saastal was a beautiful place to go for a holiday. How right they are.

I’ve included the original colour version and the B&W conversion. For me they create different moods. The colour one has warmth – it was early evening. The B&W version accentuates the black suits and the white water fountains and allows a level of contrast that colour never matches. Which do you prefer?

The title wording, by the way, comes from the OT – Joel 3:18. It just seemed so appropriate considering where we had all been. Check out the entire verse.

About LensScaper

Hi - I'm a UK-based photographer who started out 45+ years ago as a lover of landscapes, inspired by my love of outdoor pursuits: skiing, walking and climbing. Now retired, I seldom leave home without a camera and I find images in unexpected places and from different genres. I work on the premise that Photography is Art and that creativity is dependent on the cultivation of 'A Seeing Eye'. I'm not averse to manipulating images to produce derivatives that may sometimes be far removed from the original.
This entry was posted in Black & White, Seen on the Street and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to A fountain shall come forth

  1. Rich McPeek says:

    I like both shots Andy, but I’m going to go with the B&W as my choice. I love the contrasts and tones!

  2. ShimonZ says:

    This is one case where I think that black and white works better than color. I could tell you some stories about Switzerland during WWII, but best to leave it in the past.

  3. I think the B&W works really well here Andy. Wonderful capture.

  4. oneowner says:

    Seems like the B&W is the favorite here but my vote goes to the color version. The black suits seem more of a contrast to the background, rather than blending in. I like that tension.

  5. Mark Summerfield says:

    This shows how a photog should always be prepared. It can be these surprise candid moments that bring the best images. Have to agree with everyone else here, although both finishes look great, the B&W is the sure fire winner.

    • LensScaper says:

      Thanks Mark. I never bury a camera in the luggage where it can’t be got to in a hurry. The journey to/from a holiday destination almost always yields a useful image or two.

  6. Great picture! I especially like the B&W.

  7. The colour image for me Andy.

  8. Jim Nix says:

    I know that spot! great pic Andy!

  9. ehpem says:

    I like both the versions, but I think prefer the b&w. If that blue beam on the right was toned down I might vote for the colour.

Comments are closed.