Towering Cumulus

Clouds warn us of changes in the weather.  These clouds were gathering on our last afternoon in Saas Fee. And sure enough the weather changed.

_DS77361After my 12 mile walk the previous day, and an inversion injury to my right ankle, I spent the day walking around the village and up to the moraine lake. Another hatful of images that you will see something of in the weeks ahead. The ankle is fine, by the way: colourful but I’m walking pain-free. Thanks for your commiserations.

Back to the picture. By mid-afternoon on that last day, towering Cumulus cloud was building over the Portjengrat, close to the Italian border. And as expected rain followed – overnight and throughout most of the next day as we travelled home: By Electro-Taxi to the Bus, to travel back down the valley to catch the Train, to wait at the Airport for the Flight (delayed), to stand in line through Border Control at Heathrow, then wait for the Bus to take us to long-term Parking, to collect the Car to drive home. We left the Hotel at 1130 and arrived home at 2300 (all times in CEST). There’s an awful lot of hanging about in that eleven and half hours of travel time!

Now the suitcase is unpacked, the grass mown, the images consolidated on the iMac, and I’m back in business. Apologies that all your Blogs have been neglected for the last fortnight – I will start my daily round of viewing and ‘liking’ and commenting this weekend. Thanks so much for all your comments – they are always appreciated

Finally a warm welcome to all new readers of, and subscribers to, my PhotoBlog. And if you are visiting for the first time, why not Subscribe? You will find the options in the Rt sidebar. Not everything on this Blog is about mountains!

About LensScaper

Hi - I'm a UK-based photographer who started out 45+ years ago as a lover of landscapes, inspired by my love of outdoor pursuits: skiing, walking and climbing. Now retired, I seldom leave home without a camera and I find images in unexpected places and from different genres. I work on the premise that Photography is Art and that creativity is dependent on the cultivation of 'A Seeing Eye'. I'm not averse to manipulating images to produce derivatives that may sometimes be far removed from the original.
This entry was posted in Black & White, Swiss Alps - Summer and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to Towering Cumulus

  1. ehpem says:

    I could live with your blog being only about mountains since you do them so well. But if that were the case, I would miss out on a lot of other good things. Glad to hear you are back, and the ankle is fine.

  2. Glad to hear that your ankle is fine and that you’re back. I love the form of these clouds and they’re great in B&W. Nice shot! 🙂

  3. Joe says:

    Spectacular photo.

  4. Len says:

    Glad to see you back safe and sound Andy. Those long trips home seem longer than getting there (at least for me). I just beginning to pack for a 3-week trip to Oregon and California and I don’t care how long it takes me to get there as long as I do! Have a great weekend.

    • LensScaper says:

      Thanks Len. The travelling to/from can be part of the experience, but so often it is is 50% standing still waiting for the next segment of the journey! Have a great trip Len.

  5. Jim Denham says:

    Those are some serious clouds for sure! Good stuff!

  6. Lovely image Andy and glad your ankle is better.

  7. oneowner says:

    I love waiting. It seems so inefficient.

  8. seekraz says:

    Such drama in those clouds. I’m glad you made it home safely, even with the ankle…and will look forward to more of your vacation photos.

  9. Wow – that’s one gorgeous cloud!

  10. Mark Summerfield says:

    Great dramatic image with that cloud, Andy. Perfect for the B&W treatment.

  11. superb! I love clouds – especially clouds with mountains…well taken

Comments are closed.