Swiss National Day

Today – 1 August – is Swiss National Day. Everywhere there are flags. The Swiss Flag, the Cantonal Flag (Wallis or Valais) and all the other Cantonal flags.

_DS76981_edited-1Saas Fee is bathed in the red and white of the Swiss Flag.

_DS76884_edited-1What to photograph, and how to photograph, something that shows the Swiss Flag subtly differently?

_DS76896_edited-1Well I’ve tried.

_DS76921_edited-1What Intrigued me most and excited me photographically were too long banners hanging down the side of the Allalin Hotel and dancing in the breeze. You see them in the first image at the top of the post.

_DS76949_edited-1But when they danced in the breeze they wove patterns in the sky. I came back with 60 images from 10 minutes of shooting.

_DS76974_edited-1These are two that I particularly liked.

About LensScaper

Hi - I'm a UK-based photographer who started out 45+ years ago as a lover of landscapes, inspired by my love of outdoor pursuits: skiing, walking and climbing. Now retired, I seldom leave home without a camera and I find images in unexpected places and from different genres. I work on the premise that Photography is Art and that creativity is dependent on the cultivation of 'A Seeing Eye'. I'm not averse to manipulating images to produce derivatives that may sometimes be far removed from the original.
This entry was posted in Swiss Alps - Summer and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Swiss National Day

  1. vastlycurious.com says:

    Oh my the last two are just wonderful!!! I want to visit !

  2. Mark Summerfield says:

    I like the way the two banners provide a frame for the mountain in the penultimate image, very cool.

    • LensScaper says:

      Thanks Mark. The penultimate shot would be my favourite of the bunch too. Tricky to shoot – but it was one of those occasions when I just knew that if I persevered and was patient eventually all the elements were likely to come together to produce a good shot.

  3. munchow says:

    Fun graphical photos. The strong colours of the Swiss flags against the blue sky and/or the landscape makes a stark contrast. I really like the framing of the first picture.

  4. Len says:

    I agree with your selection of your favorites, they are mine too. Nice documentation of Swiss pride, Andy.

Comments are closed.