Arty

A day of wind, cloud and uncertainty. Nothing desperately bad about it but it resulted in a lazy day where the camera looked for the un-obvious and settled on finding ‘arty’ things.

Saas Fee is peppered with wood carvings, many of them having a slightly ghoulish appearance.

IMG_4850_edited-1Enter any tucked-out-of-the-way chapel (and sometimes the smallest are the most rewarding) and you will find wonderful stained glass.

_DS76611_edited-1Peer in shop windows and see beautifully detailed metal work.

_DS76390_edited-2Look for yet more windows in the old weathered buildings.

_DS76628_edited-1And then finally spot the sculpture that……..baffles, amuses, raises eyebrows and questions, or perhaps should be prefaced by the famous words: ‘Don’t look Ethel’! And, in case you are wondering, the gender order from the left is MFF. Don’t ask me any questions – I don’t have the answers!

_DS76625_edited-1Enjoy!

About LensScaper

Hi - I'm a UK-based photographer who started out 45+ years ago as a lover of landscapes, inspired by my love of outdoor pursuits: skiing, walking and climbing. Now retired, I seldom leave home without a camera and I find images in unexpected places and from different genres. I work on the premise that Photography is Art and that creativity is dependent on the cultivation of 'A Seeing Eye'. I'm not averse to manipulating images to produce derivatives that may sometimes be far removed from the original.
This entry was posted in Eclectica and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Arty

  1. Haha . a fine collection Andy 🙂

  2. ehpem says:

    A lazy day? Not for you eye I don’t think. Lots of interesting shots here; the first and last being my favourites.

  3. oneowner says:

    Boy, there is some bizarre art there! It’s wonderful!

  4. Leanne Cole says:

    I love that first one, it is amazing, It would be amazing to come across them in woods, I wish they did that here.

    • LensScaper says:

      Thanks very much for your comment, Leanne. There are great number of these both in the village and up in the forests and elsewhere. The majority are Ghoulish. Saas Fee is very family-centric, I guess the kids just love getting slightly scared by the monsters that can lurk around any corner!

  5. I love the last one. 🙂 You’re sending us some fantastic stuff, Andy! 🙂

  6. Len says:

    Great collection of art Andy. That first one is really cool.

Comments are closed.