The Britannia Hut

A walk to the Britannia Hut is a pilgrimage for me whenever we come to Saas Fee because 51 years ago this summer, this was the first hut I ever visited (and stayed in) and from which I climbed my first 4000Metre Alpine peak – The Allalinhorn.

The Britannia Hut

The Britannia Hut

Since then the hut has been extended and refurbished but the scenery is a constant, although this year, due to late Spring snow, I have never known the approaches to it to be so snowed in this late in the summer season.

80 images taken today and I’ve performed a very quick edit of seven images for this post showing the route from Felskinn (reached by Cable Car from Saas Fee) to the hut, views from the hut, and the descent back down to Plattjen: making an approximate round trip.

The images in the gallery that follow are titled. Click on the first image and then navigate through for the best quality views.

About LensScaper

Hi - I'm a UK-based photographer who started out 45+ years ago as a lover of landscapes, inspired by my love of outdoor pursuits: skiing, walking and climbing. Now retired, I seldom leave home without a camera and I find images in unexpected places and from different genres. I work on the premise that Photography is Art and that creativity is dependent on the cultivation of 'A Seeing Eye'. I'm not averse to manipulating images to produce derivatives that may sometimes be far removed from the original.
This entry was posted in Swiss Alps - Summer, Walking in the Alps and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to The Britannia Hut

  1. oneowner says:

    Did I see a person wearing shorts in the snow? Very nice series, Andy.

  2. bananabatman says:

    Great alpine views.

  3. Andy, what is that canvas thing covering the snow behind the building? Good grief, I’d be fearful that an avalanche would sweep the hut away down the mountain. Heights frighten me unreasonably. The photographs are beautiful, of course. Almost storybook unreal. Superb, I think.

    • LensScaper says:

      Hi George. Good question. I think that is a white fabric that is reflecting the sunlight and therefore has the ability to reduce the snow melt in the snow bank that is actually quite close to the hut. I have seen this treatment before in the Alps in summer to try to limit glacier shrinkage in critical areas.

  4. janina says:

    Of course, I won’t ask the obvious question about your age…..great series, andy! 😉

  5. seekraz says:

    Beautiful images, Andy…you seem to be loving your mountains. It’s very easy to see why you wish you were born a Swiss! 🙂

  6. ehpem says:

    Very nice series. I was going to ask about the white fabric covering, but see you answered in another comment. I like the word “hut” as used here, palatial in the world of huts.

    • LensScaper says:

      When these ‘Huts’ were first built they were fairly primitive shelters. You cooked your own food, the toilets were….(we won’t go there), the sleeping accomodation was a room full of straw filled mattresses. No electricity of course Etc etc. Now they have resident wardens, serve superb food, often have flush toilets and hot showers. Things have changed but they are still called Huts, or Hutte in German, or Refuge in French, or Rifugio in Italian.

  7. Len says:

    Great series of images Andy. You picked the right one for the feature image, it is an awesome shot.

Comments are closed.