Looking at you, Looking at me

Three months ago I posted an image of this poster – click here to re-visit that first image.

We were back in the same shopping centre last week and I saw this opportunity to capture another image. It’s always disconcerting photographing people wearing sunglasses – you can never be quite sure where they are looking, precisely.

IMG_4786

I felt a little uncomfortable taking this shot: was he really staring me down? But it was too good a shot to miss.

About LensScaper

Hi - I'm a UK-based photographer who started out 45+ years ago as a lover of landscapes, inspired by my love of outdoor pursuits: skiing, walking and climbing. Now retired, I seldom leave home without a camera and I find images in unexpected places and from different genres. I work on the premise that Photography is Art and that creativity is dependent on the cultivation of 'A Seeing Eye'. I'm not averse to manipulating images to produce derivatives that may sometimes be far removed from the original.
This entry was posted in Seen on the Street and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Looking at you, Looking at me

  1. oneowner says:

    It is “too good a shot to miss” and I’m glad you took it. I’m not sure if I would have, though. Here is the US, you get shot for less.

    • LensScaper says:

      Thanks Ken. It was shot on the Canon G10 which is a little less ‘in your face’ shooting than with a dSLR. I don’t think I would have dared shoot that with the Nikon!

  2. Andy – did you happen to see this post: http://toomuchglass.net/2013/07/08/connections/? I thought about it when I read yours.

    I don’t do much street photography, for a number of reasons. One is that there just aren’t that many people where I live, which makes it hard to be surreptitious. And then, there’s that whole being shot deal that Ken brought up… But I love street photography, and like the mystery in your shot about where that man was looking. Good work!

    • LensScaper says:

      Melinda, thanks so much for your comment and for the mention of Mark’s post. I’ve just read it – an extraordinary story and a fantastic image. Don’t now why but his posts seem to have been missing from WordPress Reader recently and I had missed that one. Street Photography is something I am still not entirely comfortable with but I find it really hard to miss a shot when it is handed to me on a plate like this one was.

  3. This is a really great shot, Andy. I like it very much. The guy on the street even resembles the guy in the poster. You are just too good on the street! 🙂

  4. You take the cleverest shots sometimes, great eye bud! Just love it, Great street shot!

Comments are closed.