The view from Conwy Mountain

There is something rather special about looking down on the coastline from a high point, especially when the tide is out and expanses of sand are revealed.

And that is why I find Snowdonia in N Wales such a beautiful area.  Wherever you are on a high peak in that area, you are likely to have a view out to sea. It adds another dimension to the view.

DSC_0807_wpThis is the view from Conwy Mountain, looking out across Conwy Sands to Llandudno and the projection of land called Great Orme.

Sandwiched between the land and the sea are the regimented ranks of Mobile Homes or Static Caravans as we call them in the UK. These are a common encroachment on areas of coastline across the UK. Up close they can be an unattractive sight but (and this may sound a strange comment) when seen from above they provide a counterpoint to the beauty of the landscape, contrasting the structured domestic environment with the abstract elegance of the natural landscape.

So, do they add or detract to an image like this? What do you think? Are they an invasion of the natural landscape or do they provide the tension that we look for sometimes when we compose images?

About LensScaper

Hi - I'm a UK-based photographer who started out 45+ years ago as a lover of landscapes, inspired by my love of outdoor pursuits: skiing, walking and climbing. Now retired, I seldom leave home without a camera and I find images in unexpected places and from different genres. I work on the premise that Photography is Art and that creativity is dependent on the cultivation of 'A Seeing Eye'. I'm not averse to manipulating images to produce derivatives that may sometimes be far removed from the original.
This entry was posted in Landscapes and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to The view from Conwy Mountain

  1. I agree totally about the combination of mountain and sea in North Wales, Andy – it’s a lovely place to visit, or in our case live!

    The static vans are a real eyesore at ground level, but I agree that they provide a contrast to the natural beauty of the scene when seen from above. It also looks very ‘North Wales’, with all that that entails.

    • LensScaper says:

      Thanks for commenting Paul. I think we are singing from the same Hymn sheet! It’s not just the coastline but those expanses of sand that one sees south or north of the N Wales peninsula that are such an eye-catching sight.

  2. Len Saltiel says:

    What a beautiful vista Andy. I remember spending a day in Snowdonia on a past cruise but I didn’t see this view. Wish I had!

  3. oneowner says:

    I think the Static Caravans add interest to the photo. Otherwise, it’s just another pretty landscape photo. As far as “an invasion of the natural landscape” I guess every man made structure is one as well no matter where it’s located. People have to live somewhere. We can’t live in caves or trees anymore – no wifi.

  4. Jimi Jones says:

    Tremendous view in this great shot, Andy. They really have packed in those caravans but it’s understandable with this gorgeous area. From this perspective they really don’t detract too much from the image. Very nice, man!

  5. Beautifully big scene, Andy. Very nice perspective and balance.

  6. Jim Nix says:

    looks like a beautiful area, nicely done!

  7. Earl says:

    A beautiful image no matter the mobile homes — worth the climb? Very nice Andy.

  8. ShimonZ says:

    I agree with you about the look of the mobile homes in this picture… and altogether, I’ve learned to appreciate them in a different way now than years ago. Not that I’ve ever stayed in one. But I see them differently, with a lot more tolerance.

  9. ehpem says:

    I don’t find the caravans distracting at all – as a whole, the patch of them has an organic shape that echoes the surroundings and does not seem out of place. If they had been in a neat square I might have objected to them.

  10. I actually rather like the Mobile Homes in a composition like this one, they add a layer of context. What a beautiful vista you’ve captured and shared here, Andy, truly second to none my friend!

Comments are closed.