Bridge

Music outdoors in the summer is an established feature across many countries. As I write Glastonbury is about to kick off – and it’s raining.  It always rains for Glastonbury – mud is part of the experience. Forty years ago when I was completing my training in London we occasionally went to concerts in Kenwood Park. A great venue in North London. Concerts are still held there – I’ve just checked the website and ere are the details of this year’s events.

_DS75352Today’s image is of the floodlit bridge in Kenwood Park –  a prominent feature of the park. What I like about this image is the way the backside of the floodlight provides a convenient full stop to the image as it disappears into the trees.

This image is from a collection of images from my old Print Archive that dates from the mid 1970s to mid ‘80s approximately. To see more from this series go to Categories in the Rt sidebar and click on Print Archive, or quicker still click here.

About LensScaper

Hi - I'm a UK-based photographer who started out 45+ years ago as a lover of landscapes, inspired by my love of outdoor pursuits: skiing, walking and climbing. Now retired, I seldom leave home without a camera and I find images in unexpected places and from different genres. I work on the premise that Photography is Art and that creativity is dependent on the cultivation of 'A Seeing Eye'. I'm not averse to manipulating images to produce derivatives that may sometimes be far removed from the original.
This entry was posted in Black & White, Print Archive and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Bridge

  1. ShimonZ says:

    beautiful and peaceful image

  2. Len Saltiel says:

    That is quite the lovely shot Andy. The lighting and reflection add a great feel to the photo.

  3. I love it. Beautiful image Andy.

  4. oneowner says:

    This image held up well, Andy. I’m reminded of some pen and ink drawings I’ve seen.

  5. Phillip says:

    Great shot Andy. Love the mood that you set with the b/w processing.

  6. Mark Summerfield says:

    I agree with your comment on the backside of the floodlight, Andy. It acts as a perfect anchor to the image.

  7. Mike says:

    That has a wonderful eerie quality to it, and is a remarkably beautiful image.

  8. janina says:

    An elegant image, andy!

  9. ehpem says:

    It is clear you have been taking terrific photographs for a long time! I too like that light, it adds quite a lot.

  10. I like it a lot. Its Japanese print feel appeals to me … the way it is suspended in the night with the light defining it. The reflection in the water and the light fixture place it “on earth” without the distractions that you would have in the daylight. A classic image.

Comments are closed.