All that remains

In the past, fields and enclosures were relatively small, but in the drive to make farming more economical, hedgerows have been uprooted to create larger fields for easier cultivation. As a result the countryside has lost some if its intimacy and wildlife has lost its habitat.

Post308_DS75199_topIn this image a brief clutch of weathered trees is the sole reminder that once there was a well-defined hedge. Replaced by a fence. In the foreground the field’s chalk base is scored by the tractor’s path.

A minimalist scene and a brief post as I’m in a bit of a hurry today, busy making the finishing touches to a talk to be delivered to the Camera Club at the Royal Society of Medicine tomorrow entitled: ‘The Seeing Eye: Getting the Picture, Developing the Image’. More about that in the weeks to come.

About LensScaper

Hi - I'm a UK-based photographer who started out 45+ years ago as a lover of landscapes, inspired by my love of outdoor pursuits: skiing, walking and climbing. Now retired, I seldom leave home without a camera and I find images in unexpected places and from different genres. I work on the premise that Photography is Art and that creativity is dependent on the cultivation of 'A Seeing Eye'. I'm not averse to manipulating images to produce derivatives that may sometimes be far removed from the original.
This entry was posted in Landscapes and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

27 Responses to All that remains

  1. I really like the minimalist look. Lovely image Andy.

  2. seekraz says:

    Compelling photo, Andy…would really enjoy seeing it without the chalk lines, too.

  3. Len says:

    Love the lines and the minimilist look of this Andy. The green is perfect.

  4. Mark Summerfield says:

    Nice composition, Len. This is so representative of how I remember the farmland around the North and South Downs of southern England.

    • LensScaper says:

      Thanks Mark. This is a mere pimple of a real hill but it happens to be the highest pimple in the Chiltern Hills and looking down on a vast flat plain is quite a remarkable site. It’s a little hill that my father first walked me up over 55 years ago and I still love going there.

  5. Nice! Really nice. Too bad I can’t have both: minimalist photo and sustained wildlife.

    • LensScaper says:

      Thanks Linda. I’ll see if I can find both for you – but it won’t be in this type of image. When they tear out the hedgerows, habitats suffer.

  6. I agree with previous comments; the minimalist look is spot on, and I’m loving the near-monochromatic nature. Awesome scene! 🙂

  7. Terrific composition Andy.

  8. Beautiful scene and visual structure, Andy. All lines flow to the subject. Very nice!!

  9. A really profound and poignant statement on modern life, my friend. I love the simplistic look of this shot, yet beyond that lies an entire story that really shows a strong sense of the effects we are having on our environment.

  10. This rural developement is no good, but your picture is, and telling.

  11. janina says:

    A simple and effective image, andy! I’m surprised they didn’t keep some of the plants to provide a windbreak.

  12. ehpem says:

    The chalk lines really make this photo, terrific shot.

    • LensScaper says:

      Thanks – glad you like the chalk lines. They are rather un-subtle, and I debated for a while as to whether I liked them or not, but without them I think the image would lose a lot of its structure.

  13. The chalk lines stay. End of discussion. I love the comparison of this one and today’s photos. We don’t have rolling hills where I live. They always fascinate me because they are so pleasing to look at. I can imagine how the hedgerows looked, and I am sorry the fell by the wayside. These are strong images.

    • LensScaper says:

      Many thanks George. I just have to get up a hill every now and again, the land has a completely different texture when you can look down on it. I’m off to Switzerland shortly – rather big hills out there!

Comments are closed.