Pret

I claim no credit for today’s images – I am merely the documenter of two posters that caught my eye, advertising a new branch of Prêt (Prêt a Manger) scheduled to open shortly in the centre of Milton Keynes.

IMG_4733One of the joys of photography for me is that it provides the opportunity to bring Art to a wider audience. Art exists in many forms from the Art of the Window Dresser to the Art of modern Architectural Style and on to the more mainstream art forms that include Sculpture.

IMG_4732Often neglected is the Art of Advertising – but undeniably, major campaigns employ extraordinary artistry, can be visually rich, and in themselves, irrespective of the product (which in some cases almost seems an irrelevance or an afterthought) are photographic masterpieces.

About LensScaper

Hi - I'm a UK-based photographer who started out 45+ years ago as a lover of landscapes, inspired by my love of outdoor pursuits: skiing, walking and climbing. Now retired, I seldom leave home without a camera and I find images in unexpected places and from different genres. I work on the premise that Photography is Art and that creativity is dependent on the cultivation of 'A Seeing Eye'. I'm not averse to manipulating images to produce derivatives that may sometimes be far removed from the original.
This entry was posted in Art and Scultpure and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Pret

  1. ShimonZ says:

    I agree with you, Andy. Some of the advertisements are truly artistic. I worked for a while in that area, so I am really familiar with it. But on the other hand, there is a certain resentment in the public… a feeling that we’ve gotten an overdose. And sometimes the advertisements seem to harangue us, interrupt our thoughts… even shout at us. And so we’re less receptive to the art. But that second poster you’ve brought today is really beautiful.

    • LensScaper says:

      Thank you Shimon for those very perceptive thoughts. I think we could talk for a long time about Advertising, My son is a Creative Director so I’ve seen the business from the inside. What I liked about these (and there are others in the series) is the simple beauty of them. ‘You don’t have to shout to be heard is’ one phrase that springs to mind.

  2. Len says:

    Very creative Andy. Thanks for sharing.

  3. ehpem says:

    Very nice – the more advertising that is this creative, the more inspiration art will be to a wide range of people. I am thinking especially of those that don’t see art out, but encounter it daily through adverts. I think that the UK is particularly rich in good advertising art.

    • LensScaper says:

      Thanks for that comment. There is a very strong artistic streak in a lot of advertising over here, but sadly I suspect it is lost on many of the viewers. These posters are subtle but clever. Who would have thought of using Fennel to construct a teapot?

      • ehpem says:

        I think that any exposure to good art is not wasted. If the environment is littered with highly artistic posters, great buildings, sculptures and so on then the people immersed in that environment benefit and have their standards raised, even if seemingly oblivious.

  4. phillip says:

    Thanks for posting Andy. I like the art. I think that it is interesting.

  5. Jimi Jones says:

    This is so cool, love the creativity here. Art is everywhere and I enjoy seeing it. It often stimulates ideas.

Comments are closed.