Fact and Fiction

Sometimes the search for a title defeats me, and this is one such day. I tried a title based around the word ‘Surreal’, or one that hinted at a jigsaw gone wrong but nothing sounded right. Maybe the brain is still asleep. But this is an image of a superbly crafted sculpture that distorts reality in a remarkable way. Depending on where you stand that clash of reality and a distorted interpretation of it plays games with your mind’s eye.

Post303_IMG_4679Your first glance at this image will possibly initially puzzle you. It’s an image that really looks, and works, better when enlarged. So click the image and enjoy it for a few seconds. Take it all in.

This is Solo II by Naomi Press in Cavendish Square, London. I first published an image of it just over a year ago. Click here to see that earlier Post. I thought that its time span in Cavendish Square was limited so I was surprised but pleased to see it still there last month.

Made of polished stainless steel this is an object that delights at every footfall. The world around you is presented in a warped, disjointed, Picasso-like fashion. Snatches of this and that, at odd angles, seemingly unrelated.

If you are near to London then do see this sculpture – it will not disappoint.

For a pdf press release about this sculpture click here, or here for Naomi Press’s website

About LensScaper

Hi - I'm a UK-based photographer who started out 45+ years ago as a lover of landscapes, inspired by my love of outdoor pursuits: skiing, walking and climbing. Now retired, I seldom leave home without a camera and I find images in unexpected places and from different genres. I work on the premise that Photography is Art and that creativity is dependent on the cultivation of 'A Seeing Eye'. I'm not averse to manipulating images to produce derivatives that may sometimes be far removed from the original.
This entry was posted in Art and Scultpure, London and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Fact and Fiction

  1. ShimonZ says:

    Very interesting to compare the two images, And I appreciate your work in sharing this with us.

  2. Len Saltiel says:

    That really does look like a puzzle Andy. Cool shot and statue.

  3. Andy, this is a great shot! It does have a jigsaw-puzzle-gone-awry feel to it. It reminds me of the Cloud Gate piece in Chicago (http://bit.ly/ZOrrNW). I like Press’s piece better though – the scale seems more accessible. And I like this shot better than your older one, because it’s more mysterious and takes a while to understand.

    • LensScaper says:

      Thanks Melinda. I like Cloud Gate. There was a major exhibition of Anish Kapoor’s work a couple of years back in London which was superb. Also a couple of his convex mirrors were installed, one in Brighton, that I remember seeing. The concept was a little like Cloud Gate. Looking back I’m not too impressed with my earlier effort at capturing Naomi’s sculpture. This is more mysterious and more surreal.

  4. oneowner says:

    It’s a beautiful and interesting sculpture that looks like you can get endless photo ops depending on the season, time of day or even weather conditions.

    • LensScaper says:

      Thanks Ken. You are absolutely right. It feels that this sculpture has a huge amount of potential photographically. I hope that it is not replaced with something different anytime soon.

  5. Very cool Andy! I’d love to see that in person! 🙂

  6. Jimi Jones says:

    This is such a great find, Andy. The sculpture is awesome and can be photographed multiple times with variations of light and angles. Love this, man. Definite has that jigsaw feel.

    • LensScaper says:

      Thanks Jimi. You obviously see the potential here. I think you could come here on a daily basis and find new images based on the variables you mention.

  7. ehpem says:

    This is a very interesting sculpture, definitely worth visits with camera. I like how it fractures the surroundings and makes us look at the pieces. The look different that way, which is one thing your earlier photo shows very well.

    • LensScaper says:

      This is really fascinating sculpture to photograph. Depending on how close you stand and the viewpoint you choose, you can vary the way this sculpture interacts with its surroundings, and in consequence the visual complexity and level of Surrealism.

  8. This is very cool. At first I wasn’t quite sure what I was looking at. I can see why you had trouble with the title.

  9. Great sculpture and effect! It certainly distorts the surroundings. I’m coming to London in December so I’ll have to go see it 🙂

Comments are closed.