Chalk Furrows

Another quick post today.

An unlikely looking field for cultivation, but the farmer had ploughed this chalky field and so presumably intended to plant a crop.

Post302_DS75796This is another digitized print – the image would have been taken in Dorset or Devon – the sea is there somewhere in the grainy background, and the small tree buffeted by years of wind tells us that we are in an exposed place at the mercy of the prevailing wind.

This image is from a series of images from my old Print Archive that dates from the mid 1970s to mid ‘80s approximately. To see more from this series go to Categories in the Rt sidebar and click on Print Archive, or quicker still click here.

About LensScaper

Hi - I'm a UK-based photographer who started out 45+ years ago as a lover of landscapes, inspired by my love of outdoor pursuits: skiing, walking and climbing. Now retired, I seldom leave home without a camera and I find images in unexpected places and from different genres. I work on the premise that Photography is Art and that creativity is dependent on the cultivation of 'A Seeing Eye'. I'm not averse to manipulating images to produce derivatives that may sometimes be far removed from the original.
This entry was posted in Print Archive and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Chalk Furrows

  1. Cool shot Andy. I enjoyed looking at this series of old prints. Keep them coming 🙂

  2. Another wonderful shot Andy. Your print archive is yielding gems.

  3. Len Saltiel says:

    That is a nice composition with the lines of the field leading to that sole tree on the horizon Andy.

  4. Nice work Andy. I still love the look of old B&W film.

  5. oneowner says:

    It’s easy to see that you have had a very good eye for composition, even back then. This is very nice in spite of, or probably partly because of the grain

    • LensScaper says:

      Thanks Ken. I haven’t yet rooted through the old negative files to see what the film was, but it might have been a 400ISO film like Tri-X. Mainly I used FP4 rated at 125 and that really gave little grain. But punchy images with grain were in fashion in the era when I was producing most of my best prints.

  6. ehpem says:

    This IS a very interesting composition. I am finding these scanned prints very interesting to look at – in large part to study the grain and remember what it was like! The grain suits this shot very well – the foreground is the very definition of granular.

    It is hard to imagine what would happily grow on this kind of ground – something lucrative enough to pay for replacing the worn plough and shredded tractor tires for surely this chalk is full of sharp flint.

    • LensScaper says:

      Some of these old prints I recall vividly, but some like this one I have no real recollection at all. But you are right about the field – it doesn’t look like a seed bed!

  7. Wow, man. That print archive has some great shots contained within. Must be big fun going back through them and recalling the actual shoot. Really digging this one, Andy.

    • LensScaper says:

      Thanks Jimi. Yes, it has been great fun and very nostalgic to look through prints that have been hiding in a cupboard for 20 years or so in some cases.

  8. It’s wonderful . But looks like it is already planted?

    • LensScaper says:

      Thank you – no I don’t think it is planted and as others have commented I’m not really sure what would grow in this field – but the farmer must have had something in mind.

Comments are closed.