Lunch Break Texting

The King’s Cross Area of London has been undergoing a huge renovation programme for several years. I visited the area recently and was amazed at the changes. Part of the University of the Arts has moved into a block of buildings just north of the Grand Union Canal.

Post299_IMG_4682-2

Students spill out during the lunch hour which is when I spotted this young lady, one among many, sitting on the steps down to the canal, enjoying the warm sunshine.

About LensScaper

Hi - I'm a UK-based photographer who started out 45+ years ago as a lover of landscapes, inspired by my love of outdoor pursuits: skiing, walking and climbing. Now retired, I seldom leave home without a camera and I find images in unexpected places and from different genres. I work on the premise that Photography is Art and that creativity is dependent on the cultivation of 'A Seeing Eye'. I'm not averse to manipulating images to produce derivatives that may sometimes be far removed from the original.
This entry was posted in London, Seen on the Street and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Lunch Break Texting

  1. oneowner says:

    You have a way of seeing a scene in a graphic sense. In this shot, the girl seems juxtaposed onto the scene. Very nice.

    • LensScaper says:

      Thanks Ken. I liked the way she was positioned on the steps, and the background patterned hoarding held the whole image together and surprisingly didn’t feel obtrusive. I debated whether to include the thin sliver of blue close to the top of the hoarding. Taking it out, the image seemed to lose something so I left it in. Geometry is featuring in more and more of my urban and street images these days. My son is a graphic designer. Maybe ‘graphics’ is in the blood!

  2. I liked it because of the symmetry and more so the hedge in the background. Great capture!

  3. Len says:

    Like the simplicity of the composition with the subject contrasting with the steps nicely. The lines of the rail and the great green background make this a super image Andy.

  4. ehpem says:

    I like that hoarding too – it is a bit disorienting since it looks natural at first, but also looks like vegetation floating on water, or something. It sure makes the picture. And I noticed that thin blue line almost right away, it helped me sort out the true nature of the hoarding (though I thought it was a painted wall, which I suppose it is, temporarily).

  5. Very clever composition, well done

Comments are closed.