Flying the Flag

A walk through unfamiliar streets in London is guaranteed to result in something new to capture.  Those of you who regularly visit or follow this blog will know that I take a keen interest in reflections, especially in urban environments. Look at a building and you will see not just the building before your eyes, but little warped snapshots of what is behind you.

IMG_4649_Top

Today’s image is a classic example of that phenomenon. I spotted this repetitive geometric reflection as I walked up a street in Bloomsbury and searched for the best point from which to capture it. As I progressed up the street, looking for a form of symmetry, I suddenly noticed I was picking up something different – a flag’s reflection: and not just any flag – our Flag. And from one spot, that flag fell in the right hand lowest window pane. And, as an added bonus, that window was in a contrasting part of the building.

This has similarities with the concept behind ‘Odd one out’ posted earlier this year.

About LensScaper

Hi - I'm a UK-based photographer who started out 45+ years ago as a lover of landscapes, inspired by my love of outdoor pursuits: skiing, walking and climbing. Now retired, I seldom leave home without a camera and I find images in unexpected places and from different genres. I work on the premise that Photography is Art and that creativity is dependent on the cultivation of 'A Seeing Eye'. I'm not averse to manipulating images to produce derivatives that may sometimes be far removed from the original.
This entry was posted in Architecture & Buildings, London and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

30 Responses to Flying the Flag

  1. Len says:

    Great catch Andy. It is amazing what you see with a photographer’s eye.

    • LensScaper says:

      Thanks Len. Every time I go to London, I find a different route from the Rail Station into the centre of the West End, and look for a new image. So far, Ive never been disappointed.

  2. athyfoto says:

    Well captured Andy. Just goes to show what you can come up with when you “work” the subject by checking out various viewing points.

    • LensScaper says:

      Thanks for your comment. This was just how the cookie crumbled. The flag lined up… I guess it happened because I have a very tidy mind and look for symmetry in situations like this and they just lined up. Serendipity!

  3. ken bello says:

    A perfect composition, Andy.

  4. Spot-on with this one, Andy. Awesome.

  5. Awesome capture Andy! Good eye!! 🙂

    • LensScaper says:

      Many thanks Rachel. Finding images like this are a real bonus. I had a long walk on this particular day and I was getting tired. When you find something like this you forget about tiredness!

  6. Very cool shot indeed!

  7. That is why us photographers have good eyes. We see what other will (or may) walk right on past. We are the documenter of the world. Just find and capture. Keep that eye out for more funs stuff.

  8. As Louis Pasteur used to say ;-), “Fortune favors the prepared mind.” You weren’t just lucky, Andy. Good one!

  9. phillip says:

    This is so cool Andy.Way to pay attention!

  10. munchow says:

    You are very right, this is an interesting shot. Love the windows in the windows layers of perception, and the fact that the flag was in the window with a different construction compared to the others added visual interest. Very nicely seen and captured.

    • LensScaper says:

      Many thanks Otto. Sometimes buildings are juxtaposed just right – this one worked out rather well, I just had to find that one square metre of the pavement where it all came together.

  11. GREAT POST! I love looking up too!

  12. ehpem says:

    Very nice Andy. Just out of curiosity, do you always keep a camera with you?

    • LensScaper says:

      Thanks. I always carry a camera with me when I leave the house, except when walking to buy the daily paper and going to our local shops. Any further afield the camera goes too: usually in hand. Not always a dSLR, often it’s the Canon G10 – because it can be used unobtrusively.

  13. janina says:

    Love distortions! A great find….however, that flag pole in from the Union Jack looks like it may be an Australian flag….was this an embassy building perhaps?

    • LensScaper says:

      Thanks Janina. I’m sorry, I didn’t think to turn around and examine the building behind me and check out the flags – my concentration was fixed on one side of the road!

Comments are closed.