Extreme Window Cleaning

Today’s post should maybe start with a health warning: look away now if you are scared of heights.

Another day in London and I came home with a trawl of 120 images from various sites. The last place I photographed was One Hyde Park – a prestigious new residential development in Knightsbridge. (For Wikipedia entry click here).

_DS75173

High up I spotted a Window Cleaner suspended on his rope, intermittently abseiling down and jumaring up. Luckily I had elected to take with me my 18-250mm lens and this was shot at full stretch – 375mm film equivalent.

About LensScaper

Hi - I'm a UK-based photographer who started out 45+ years ago as a lover of landscapes, inspired by my love of outdoor pursuits: skiing, walking and climbing. Now retired, I seldom leave home without a camera and I find images in unexpected places and from different genres. I work on the premise that Photography is Art and that creativity is dependent on the cultivation of 'A Seeing Eye'. I'm not averse to manipulating images to produce derivatives that may sometimes be far removed from the original.
This entry was posted in London and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Extreme Window Cleaning

  1. Great shot. I considered getting a weekend apartment at One Hyde Park but decided to go for something a little more upmarket!!!!!!! OK, perhaps that is not the whole truth and I think I’m more likely to be cleaning the windows just to see how the other half live! Even the lighting is designed by James Turrell! I went to wonderful exhibition of his at The Yorkshire Sculpture Park and he designed one of the permanent attractions for them called Deer Shelter/Skyspace: http://www.ysp.co.uk/whats-on/open-air/james-turrell-deer-shelter-skyspace
    If you haven’t been and are looking for a great day out then I can highly recommend the Yorkshire Sculpture Park (and it’s free!). Check out their programme of exhibitions/events online. Lots of photo opportunities and set in beautiful countryside. Best wishes, N.

    • LensScaper says:

      Thanks Nigel. You must be wealthier than I thought! LOL! Interesting you mentioned the Yorkshire Sculpture Park. We were discussing that only the other day and thinking of a trip up there to visit the YSP, Barbara Hepworth at Wakefield, The Photographic centre in Bradford, and I think there’s a Henry Moore site in that area (but I’ve temporarily mislaid its name).

  2. Now there’s a job I could never do. Good capture.

    • LensScaper says:

      Thanks Edith. Strange how when you stand on a pavement with a long lens trained on a high building, people keep stopping and start looking to see what you are taking a picture of. I gathered a small crowd!

  3. oneowner says:

    Some people pay a lot of money to do what this guy is doing, except for the window washing part. A zip line that goes straight down! Not for me, thank you, but I love the photo.

    • LensScaper says:

      Thanks Ken. I bet this guy is earning good money for this job. I’ve been across and down a few zip lines. It’s the launching off bit that’s the most scary. But I wouldn’t be too keen on starting down and then locking myself off half way down just to hang there for a few minutes. My hourly rate would be megabucks.

  4. This would not be a job for me! I’m not even fond of climbing ladders, much less buildings. Yikes! Great shot though, and it’s amazing to me how fearless they seem.

    • LensScaper says:

      Thanks Erin. Nerves of steel. I’ve heard that there are a considerable number of people working like this in London. Some of them being mountaineers who earn money doing this to fund their next climbing trip.

  5. Okay, I think it’s a great shot! I like that you can see enough of the guy to make the photo even more interesting. You always manage that angle well.
    You can get the Topaz Black and White Topaz Labs plug-in that I was talking about today for cheap:
    Last day for 30% sale on B&W Effects, the Bundle, or Bundle upgrades! Use the discount code “bw21” until the end of the day.
    Since you are in England, they’ll allow you a few hours over the deadline I’m certain. It’s a good plug-in, but I’d choose the Detail one too.l 🙂

Comments are closed.