Shopping is Bliss

I’m not entirely sure that everyone would agree with the central tenet of this message. I know there are ladies who are partial to the occasional bout of Retail Therapy. I also know a lot of men who hate going shopping. The one thing strongly in favour of this shopping precinct, or mall, in MK is that it is entirely under cover. And considering the weather this past winter – that is a huge bonus.

IMG_4463_2wp

To get this image I sat on a seat in the centre of the arcade with the G10 gently resting on my knee, discretely covered by a hand, pointing in the right direction, with a finger resting on the shutter button.  I gazed in an unconcerned way and squeezed the button when I saw someone pass. No-one realized they had been ‘snapped’. A dozen shots later and this one came out just right and amazingly the vertical and horizontal lines did not require much work. Job done!

About LensScaper

Hi - I'm a UK-based photographer who started out 45+ years ago as a lover of landscapes, inspired by my love of outdoor pursuits: skiing, walking and climbing. Now retired, I seldom leave home without a camera and I find images in unexpected places and from different genres. I work on the premise that Photography is Art and that creativity is dependent on the cultivation of 'A Seeing Eye'. I'm not averse to manipulating images to produce derivatives that may sometimes be far removed from the original.
This entry was posted in Seen on the Street, The Human touch and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Shopping is Bliss

  1. oneowner says:

    Stealth photography! I like it!!!

  2. Len Saltiel says:

    Job well done indeed Andy. Nice secret shooting technique.

  3. Marcie says:

    Definitely worth the effort. Wonderful candid street scene!

  4. Mark Summerfield says:

    Nice one, Andy. Glad to see you have found an outlet (excuse the pun) for you photography whilst your usual landscape subjects are somewhat limited by the weather.

    • LensScaper says:

      Thanks Mark for the comment and the clever pun! Today I have mown the grass for the first time this year. Spring feels like it is finally making its presence felt. So now we wait for the countryside to show some foliage. Life might get a little frantic for a while, I think.

  5. A little retail therapy is always good for the soul I say (although my husband doesn’t always agree 🙂 ) Well caught Andy.

    • LensScaper says:

      Thanks Edith. I was rather hoping that someone would be brave enough to admit to liking the occasional spot of Retail Therapy! And in this mall it is all under cover!

  6. janina says:

    I’m glad you’re taking the risk (we have to be wily)….great result!

Comments are closed.