Same Window, Different Poster

Four weeks ago I posted ‘Looking at you’. Click the link if you missed it, to see the earlier poster. We returned to this same precinct just before Easter and the Man in the poster had gone. To be replaced by another.

_DS74962_wp

There was not much colour in this new one, so I converted it to B&W in CS5 and then ran the image through Topaz BW effects. Strange how you only see later what you missed when you pressed the shutter. I had waited for shoppers to fill the corners of the viewfinder but had not realized that the lady in the right corner had her finger pointing in just the right direction. That was a lucky little extra. Click the image to see an enlargement.

And a further bonus for today. A sister window in the same store also had a new poster. Here it is.

_DS74966_wp

By looking at the reflections you might guess the name of the store. For the first time I took a polarizing filter with me to see whether it would quieten the reflections. It made absolutely no difference at all. In fact, sometimes the reflections add that extra ingredient.

About LensScaper

Hi - I'm a UK-based photographer who started out 45+ years ago as a lover of landscapes, inspired by my love of outdoor pursuits: skiing, walking and climbing. Now retired, I seldom leave home without a camera and I find images in unexpected places and from different genres. I work on the premise that Photography is Art and that creativity is dependent on the cultivation of 'A Seeing Eye'. I'm not averse to manipulating images to produce derivatives that may sometimes be far removed from the original.
This entry was posted in Seen on the Street and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Same Window, Different Poster

  1. The reflections are important! They’re the interesting element in these images! I love the Prada one with the perfectly focus lady pointing. Serendipity was following you that day. I think all three of the poster photos are really fine.
    Did you get the upgrades for the Nik software?

    • LensScaper says:

      Thanks George. Sometimes reflections work, sometimes they don’t. You don’t get to see the failures! As For Nik – the answer is yes, thanks.

  2. Jim Denham says:

    That first image is the stuff! Like it!

  3. Yep the reflections really work well here Andy! Lovely post and images! 🙂

  4. Len Saltiel says:

    Terrific shots Andy. I think that the reflections add a lot. The only way that I have discovered to eliminate them is a lens skirt but in this case it would not have work unless you shot with a fisheye.

  5. oneowner says:

    The reflections of the passerby’s make these very interesting, more so for me than the fancy shops. I almost never bring my camera to the mall but I really should, there are a lot of photo ops.

    • LensScaper says:

      Thanks Ken. I’ve been really surprised at the variety of images that I can find either in indoor shopping malls or just out in the open air. It’s worth exploring.

  6. Phillip says:

    Very interesting shots Andy. I really liked the one with the lady pointing. Really creative stuff!

Comments are closed.