Window Cleaning

I was walking through the vast space that connects the two interior shopping malls at our local shopping centre when I spotted today’s image.

IMG_4471

This is window cleaning on a grand scale using a Cherry Picker (aerial lift platform).  This was very obviously a silhouette requiring little processing. The challenge was to get a good profile of the cleaner and also a reasonable composition. So I patiently waited, checking my watch as my wife was shopping and I was window watching. Patience was rewarded. This was the best shot of about a dozen. And I made my deadline for meeting up, somewhat breathlessly.

About LensScaper

Hi - I'm a UK-based photographer who started out 45+ years ago as a lover of landscapes, inspired by my love of outdoor pursuits: skiing, walking and climbing. Now retired, I seldom leave home without a camera and I find images in unexpected places and from different genres. I work on the premise that Photography is Art and that creativity is dependent on the cultivation of 'A Seeing Eye'. I'm not averse to manipulating images to produce derivatives that may sometimes be far removed from the original.
This entry was posted in Black & White, The Human touch and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Window Cleaning

  1. Len says:

    Great silhouette with cool lines and patterns Andy. Quite a good eye.

  2. Yup, definitely worth being slightly breathless at the meetup!

  3. I like the repeating patterns here, Andy. Nice find.

  4. Waiting paid off! Nice shot!

  5. Excellent Andy. Worth waiting for.

  6. seekraz says:

    Nice capture, Andy…I did some of that sitting and waiting the other day, too….alongside a stream, trying to be very still so as not to disturb the ducks and geese that were floating by…my posterior got a little cold from the rock I was sitting on, but I did manage to get some nice photos, too…. I’d say our patience is rewarded occasionally…. 😉

    • LensScaper says:

      Thanks Scott. Increasingly I am of the opinion that serious photography is a solitary pursuit. I’m reminded of a quote by Mark Twain: ‘Golf is a good walk spoiled’. Photography can have the same effect on a good walk!

      • seekraz says:

        You’re welcome, Andy, and I think you’re right…and it’s like being a writer, too…you end up spending your time alone so you can focus and think and create and see those bigger worlds. And yes, Mr Twain…I’ve found that I have to leave my camera at work when I take my lunchtime walks…or I don’t get very far…and if I do, I always get back late…. 🙂

  7. theaterwiz says:

    Love the compo and the lines in this one, well done

Comments are closed.