Up on the Roof

Mosses and Lichens grow anywhere, even on roofs. A few weeks ago during one of the brief mild interludes in what seems a never-ending winter I completed one of my annual tasks: clearing rotting leaves from the guttering of our garage

I climbed up the step ladder, looked along the roof and was surprised by what I saw. I’m familiar with bits of moss and patches of lichen somehow finding sufficient nutrients to establish themselves in the unlikeliest of places. After a storm the drains often contain rounded balls of moss dislodged from the roof. But it was the sheer beauty of the delicately shaped moss that surprised me as I examined the roof.

Post260_DSC_4708_wp

Gutter clearing was put on hold as I went and fetched the camera to capture what I saw. These are just two images of the natural beauty that I discovered clinging to the crevices between the slates.

Post260_DSC_4710_wp

About LensScaper

Hi - I'm a UK-based photographer who started out 45+ years ago as a lover of landscapes, inspired by my love of outdoor pursuits: skiing, walking and climbing. Now retired, I seldom leave home without a camera and I find images in unexpected places and from different genres. I work on the premise that Photography is Art and that creativity is dependent on the cultivation of 'A Seeing Eye'. I'm not averse to manipulating images to produce derivatives that may sometimes be far removed from the original.
This entry was posted in Eclectica, Garden Plants and Wild Flowers and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Up on the Roof

  1. Haha … great images Andy, but do I detect a wee bit of ‘displacement activity’? 😀

  2. Len says:

    That is quite an unusually shaped moss Andy. Great details.

  3. That is very pretty. Well seen and
    captured Andy.

  4. oneowner says:

    This is an activity way better than cleaning gutters, which is my least favorite job.

  5. This just goes to prove the point that you can find beauty anywhere, even up on the roof. By the way, that way a great song.

  6. Sush beautiful pictures, especially the first! And reminds me that I soon have to clean my roof… ;(

  7. I would have removed the moss only reluctantly. The shape elicits images of a formal English garden. Some images stick in my old head. I think this is one of them for some reason. Perhaps because I was an avid gardener, and I allow my Trumpet Vine to flourish at the expense of the pergola on which she thrives… 🙂

  8. seekraz says:

    Very interesting photos, Andy…remind me of the vintage pipe-repair post I had a while back…beautiful moss growing in the strangest places. What a nice find. 🙂

Comments are closed.