Looking at You

A benign, non-threatening, expressionless face looking straight ahead fills a vast floor to ceiling window in a fashion store in this shopping precinct. He’s certainly an eye-catcher. Ladies – you might call him handsome.

Post258_IMG_388_wp

Reflections of the shop windows opposite were tricky and unavoidable. I visited this site twice to see how well I could control them. Despite my best endeavours, this final processed image required an hour’s work to deal with a band of colour crossing his face. Note the lady in a hat in the bottom left corner – a little bonus.

About LensScaper

Hi - I'm a UK-based photographer who started out 45+ years ago as a lover of landscapes, inspired by my love of outdoor pursuits: skiing, walking and climbing. Now retired, I seldom leave home without a camera and I find images in unexpected places and from different genres. I work on the premise that Photography is Art and that creativity is dependent on the cultivation of 'A Seeing Eye'. I'm not averse to manipulating images to produce derivatives that may sometimes be far removed from the original.
This entry was posted in Seen on the Street and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Looking at You

  1. Len Saltiel says:

    I have dealt with reflections and how hard they are to fix in post-processing. Nice job Andy. Is that your reflection? ;-0

    • LensScaper says:

      Thanks Len. Ha! – if only I was half as good looking and half my age! Every time I go out and end up viewing reflections in a shop window I’m either using the G10 or I have completely forgotten to pack a Polarising filter. But I suspect the polariser may not be a heap of good. One day I must experiment

  2. Quite surreal Andy!

  3. oneowner says:

    The reflections are the heart of this photo and I think you did a great job of keeping them under control.

  4. Eh, he’s not that handsome, to me at least. But your photograph—now, that’s handsome! Good job, Andy!

  5. Very nice job on this, Andy. Reflections can be quite challenging. In this case, your final result makes good use of them.

  6. The reflections are perfectly positioned. Careful composition yields its own special rewards. This is obviously well-planned and beautifully executed to look effortless. A fine image.

    • LensScaper says:

      Thanks very much George. I took a half dozen shots of this – getting the reflections right so they didn’t mess up his face too much was the really tricky bit.

  7. Reflections only add context and depth to subjects photographed through glass, imo. No idea how bad they were to begin with, but they look just great in this shot.

    • LensScaper says:

      Thanks very much for your comment. I agree with your comment. The images I don’t use are the examples where the reflections intrude too much and ruin the composition. In the image in this post – I removed a band of different tone that crossed the face – that I felt needed to be done, but nothing else.

Comments are closed.