Odd One Out

Elliott Erwitt described Photography as ‘an art of observation’. Thankfully we don’t all see the world quite the same way: it would be very boring if we did. By observing the world around us we all distil from it images that appeal to us individually. On my trips to London I try to find something different in the City-scape. Some of that is to be found at ground level, but some is also to be found above our heads.

I glanced up at this building and out of fifty or sixty panes of glass saw one pane that was different from all the others. It appears as if a sheet of paper has been stuck to the interior of the glass and is now slowly detaching itself.

IMG_4380_wp

The simple repetitive pattern, disrupted by that discrepancy, appealed to me. I wonder how long that piece of paper lasted, and who else noticed it.

About LensScaper

Hi - I'm a UK-based photographer who started out 45+ years ago as a lover of landscapes, inspired by my love of outdoor pursuits: skiing, walking and climbing. Now retired, I seldom leave home without a camera and I find images in unexpected places and from different genres. I work on the premise that Photography is Art and that creativity is dependent on the cultivation of 'A Seeing Eye'. I'm not averse to manipulating images to produce derivatives that may sometimes be far removed from the original.
This entry was posted in Architecture & Buildings, London and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Odd One Out

  1. Len says:

    You have to extremely observant to catch that Andy. We photographers see our everyday life with keen scrutiny that others miss. Nice catch.

    • LensScaper says:

      Thanks Len. I’m finding myself much more aware of my surroundings these days as a result of a deliberate approach of looking for the unusual image. The benefits are also other than photographic, there is a richer appreciation of the environment – whether it is the natural or man-made.

  2. Great eye Andy. I don’t know that I would have caught that.

    • LensScaper says:

      Thanks Edith. the flip side to your comment is that you might have seen something that I missed – It’s all down to the way we see the environment and the way we tune our brains to search for photographic possibilities.

  3. oneowner says:

    That break with the symmetry is the key to the success of this image. Excellent shot.

  4. Great shot Andy. By the way, I love that quote!

    • LensScaper says:

      Thanks Phillip. The whole quote is: “To me, photography is an art of observation. It’s about finding something interesting in an ordinary place… I’ve found it has little to do with the things you see and everything to do with the way you see them.”

  5. Yes, as Thoreau said, “It’s not what you look at that matters, it’s what you see”. I like the expression that observation has everything to do with the way in which we see. I think you see, Andy.

    • LensScaper says:

      Thanks George. That’s a good quote. I’m learning to ‘See’. ‘Seeing’ needs cultivating in my experience, the more you look the more you see. And it actually opens up a whole new world.

Comments are closed.