Colour after dark

I was down in London on Monday evening to meet up with my son at Spitalfields market for a meal. The market traders had gone home, the office workers that walk through there everyday were also long gone. Even most of the restaurants that are normally crowded during the day were deserted. The place was like a ghost town.

Two objects caught my camera’s attention – audaciously colourful panels. Drama in the gathering gloom.

IMG_4344_WPBoth images shot on the Canon G10 at ISO400.

IMG_4342_WP

I also took my Nikon D7000 with me and shot a number of images at high ISO (1600 to 2500) on the walk from Euston to Oxford Circus. I’ll be posting some of those images in the coming weeks. Watch out for them.

About LensScaper

Hi - I'm a UK-based photographer who started out 45+ years ago as a lover of landscapes, inspired by my love of outdoor pursuits: skiing, walking and climbing. Now retired, I seldom leave home without a camera and I find images in unexpected places and from different genres. I work on the premise that Photography is Art and that creativity is dependent on the cultivation of 'A Seeing Eye'. I'm not averse to manipulating images to produce derivatives that may sometimes be far removed from the original.
This entry was posted in Eclectica, Stained & Decorative Glass and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Colour after dark

  1. Len says:

    Sounds very similar to Wall Street in NY Andy. Once the markets close, it is deserted. Really nice find and well captured. Those colors are quite bold!

    • LensScaper says:

      Thanks Len. Those colours really were stand out vibrant colours. I’ve not increased the saturation although it might appear so – just tweaks to contrast, exposure and brightness and a little bit of tidying out of some unwanted highlights and messy intrusive bits.

  2. I can see why the colors attracted you. Very well shot Andy.

  3. oneowner says:

    The first shot is borderline surreal. And it’s not much of a border, either. Great shot.

  4. Both great images Andy, but the first is outstanding!

    • LensScaper says:

      Thanks very much Paul. I like the new Gravatar image with Mist, nice to share the limelight with Mist! And I realize you are now on Twitter – welcome.

      • Yes, I think Mist improves the Gravatar no end! She’s much better looking than me!

        I had a Twitter account previously, but I binned it – I found it was becoming a burden trying to keep up with a large number of Tweets .

        I’m now following a small select group of Tweeters (yourself included)

  5. Light in all its forms – wonderful.

    David.

Comments are closed.