One heading up, and three down

Another image taken from a chairlift; this one from the Eya-Sunegga chair in the Rothorn ski area of Zermatt. Being suspended anything up to 50 feet above the ground gives an entirely different, and unique, bird’s-eye perspective of everything going on around you. And you see the images coming as the lift moves uphill.

I saw this collection of four walkers on a winter walking path and took two images of them: one as the individuals approached each other, and one after they crossed.

_DS74678_wp

I felt the image displayed, taken after they crossed paths, had more tension and strength than the one I took of them approaching each other.

About LensScaper

Hi - I'm a UK-based photographer who started out 45+ years ago as a lover of landscapes, inspired by my love of outdoor pursuits: skiing, walking and climbing. Now retired, I seldom leave home without a camera and I find images in unexpected places and from different genres. I work on the premise that Photography is Art and that creativity is dependent on the cultivation of 'A Seeing Eye'. I'm not averse to manipulating images to produce derivatives that may sometimes be far removed from the original.
This entry was posted in Skiing - Zermatt, Winter and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to One heading up, and three down

  1. man that post sure has its ups and downs

  2. munchow says:

    It’s quite a juxtaposition you have captured. For me it’s seems like the person heading upwards towards the left is much more energetic than the three heading down, who seem sad or almost lost. Well seen and captured on the way.

    • LensScaper says:

      Thanks Otto. I agree, the three going down really look a rather miserable bunch. I think that accentuates the contrast with the athletic poise of the uphill walker

  3. seekraz says:

    Great capture, Andy.

Comments are closed.