People Watching

An eleven hour journey (taxi, train, train, plane, bus, car) brought us back home to the UK earlier this week. Of those eleven hours I reckon about four were spent hanging around on railway stations and at the airport. An opportunity to look for images helps to while away the time.

First up, but the last shot taken, I spotted this figure at the airport reclining half asleep on a bench some distance away from us as we ate a snack.

IMG_4289_wpA subtle rearrangement of the chairs allowed a clear shot. I just placed the G10 on our table, zoomed in and rested my finger on the shutter release in a disinterested sort of way and pressed the shutter. Note how the prize possession clutched close to her is not her wallet or handbag but her Toblerone chocolate bar.

Earlier in the day we had spent 20 minutes on Visp station waiting for our connection and I wandered off up the platform. The four images that follow are all of the same train as I searched for the best way of recording the scene. A passenger came into view just at the right moment. I’d be interested to know which one of these you prefer. Each image in isolation is satisfying; seeing all four at once shows an evolving process both at the composing stage and during processing back home.

IMG_4273_wp

IMG_4275_wp

IMG_4274_wp

IMG_4274_sol_wp

Click on any image to see a higher quality enlargement.

More from Zermatt next week as I work my way through a few more images that I hope will be of interest to you.

Those of you who regularly follow my Photoblog may like to glance through the ‘En Route’ category (in Rt sidebar) for other images from our regular trips across Switzerland, including others taken at Visp, and Geneva Airport.

About LensScaper

Hi - I'm a UK-based photographer who started out 45+ years ago as a lover of landscapes, inspired by my love of outdoor pursuits: skiing, walking and climbing. Now retired, I seldom leave home without a camera and I find images in unexpected places and from different genres. I work on the premise that Photography is Art and that creativity is dependent on the cultivation of 'A Seeing Eye'. I'm not averse to manipulating images to produce derivatives that may sometimes be far removed from the original.
This entry was posted in En Route and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to People Watching

  1. oneowner says:

    You have a great eye for graphic design as demonstrated here (and in the past, too). Nice work.

    • LensScaper says:

      Thanks so much for that comment Ken. Maybe it’s hereditary in reverse: my son studied Graphic Design at University and now works as a Designer and Typographer in London! But I think starting out as a B&W photographer (and you will know what I mean, I’m sure) strong lines and compositional design were always a feature of my photography, and that has carried forward into my digital world.

Comments are closed.