Cabins and Chairs

Today promised but didn’t deliver. It was supposed to be sun and cloud but actually it was cloud, flat light and near whiteout. Skiers are a hardy bunch and a little bit of rubbish weather doesn’t completely deter us, although in whiteout you ‘feel’ the slope rather than see it. I’m pleased to say I remained on my feet.

Today’s subject is uphill transport – what would we do without it? The answer is a lot less skiing downhill. All three of today’s images would I suppose fall approximately into the High Key category. The light really dictated that, and so I capitalised on that factor. The first shot was taken from ground level looking across to another lift. The range of tones attracted me to this daisy chain of cabins.

_DS74387_wp

The other two images were taken from the chair lift up to Furggsattel. The first one with the Canon G10, and then I decided that I would try out the D7000 and that was used for the final image (and the top image) where the light resulted in the lift appearing to be almost suspended in the flat-lit mountain-scape.

IMG_4108_wp

_DS74392_wp

I don’t have enough time this week to do my usual viewing and commenting on your work – I’ll rectify that when we return to the UK. Many thanks for your comments and ‘Likes’ – they are always appreciated.

About LensScaper

Hi - I'm a UK-based photographer who started out 45+ years ago as a lover of landscapes, inspired by my love of outdoor pursuits: skiing, walking and climbing. Now retired, I seldom leave home without a camera and I find images in unexpected places and from different genres. I work on the premise that Photography is Art and that creativity is dependent on the cultivation of 'A Seeing Eye'. I'm not averse to manipulating images to produce derivatives that may sometimes be far removed from the original.
This entry was posted in Skiing - Zermatt and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Cabins and Chairs

  1. Supurb shots Andy. The first one is my favorite. The chair lift dotting the background is perfect.

  2. oneowner says:

    I see what you mean by the light conditions. The D7000 can capture quite a high dynamic range but it’s no match more Mother Nature. Excellent shots in spite of it, though.

    • LensScaper says:

      Thanks Ken. I could have got got more tones in the highlights, but I rather liked the way they echoed what I actually was experiencing – almost whiteout at times.

  3. The last shot really cptures the feel of those cloudy, near whiteout days – I almost pulled up the zip on my fleece in anticipation of the cold demount at the top!
    Well done Andy!

  4. Cool shots. I really like the second image.

  5. ehpem says:

    Very nice – I especially like that first one and its tones.

  6. Len Saltiel says:

    Excellent images Andy. I really love the perspective on the last one. I tend to want to go somewhere warm in the winter while you seem to go somewhere cold. Maybe if I skied…

    • LensScaper says:

      Thanks Len. Skiing gets me to places I could never get to on my own two feet, and enables me to move around the mountain-scape far faster. I’m reminded of the saying (of which there are many variations) – no such thing as bad weather, just inappropriate clothing. If you dress right you normally stay warm.

Comments are closed.