Snow plume on the ridge

Snow overnight, a mist shrouded valley at first light; but by lunchtime a complete transformation. The clouds dispersed, the mist burnt off and blue skies throughout. Not expecting such a turn-around I only took the Canon G10 out with me that was, in retrospect, a mistake as the views warranted a better camera to capitalise on the views. Of 60 images taken, one view stood out repeatedly. Click on the image to view an enlargement.

IMG_4079_wp

Up high above us there was a strong wind blowing and it was whipping up the spindrift and with the sun behind it, the whole 1.5Km ridge of the Breithorn looked like it was smoking golden light. I took 10 images over an hour or so to capture this sight – and felt disappointed overall with my efforts. The one I have chosen, is the best of the bunch. I felt it suited a B&W conversion as it is the light rather than the colour that is important and the presence of two figures just added an extra dimension. Tomorrow will be as good as today, so the D7000 will get its first outing. Better make sure I stay on my feet!

About LensScaper

Hi - I'm a UK-based photographer who started out 45+ years ago as a lover of landscapes, inspired by my love of outdoor pursuits: skiing, walking and climbing. Now retired, I seldom leave home without a camera and I find images in unexpected places and from different genres. I work on the premise that Photography is Art and that creativity is dependent on the cultivation of 'A Seeing Eye'. I'm not averse to manipulating images to produce derivatives that may sometimes be far removed from the original.
This entry was posted in MountainScape, Skiing - Zermatt and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Snow plume on the ridge

  1. Len Saltiel says:

    I can hear that wind blowing now Andy. Wonderfully captured. I think the B&W choice adds a great mood.

  2. ehpem says:

    That halo of blowing snow is wonderful. It looks cold though.

Comments are closed.