Blue Hues

Colour can be bold, colour can be subtle. Pre-digital, I became increasingly disenchanted with my colour work as a small amount of under or over exposure usually ruined an image. Not so with B&W work where, as the processor, I had the ability to ‘rescue’ images where exposure was not absolutely perfect.

Now in the digital era there is a level playing field. All my images are shot in colour, some are converted. Although I still aim to get it right in camera, every image is tweaked during processing to extract the best quality.

IMG_3920_wp

Today’s image is all about subtlety. Shot in Central London, I was attracted to the tall glass frontage of this building. A variety of factors (internal and external) combined to create a subtle palette of colours across this image – no two adjacent panels being absolutely the same colour. Essentially it’s a pattern image. I resisted the temptation to correct the verticals – it was shot with a wide angle lens. Maybe I will return again later in the year and use a longer lens.

About LensScaper

Hi - I'm a UK-based photographer who started out 45+ years ago as a lover of landscapes, inspired by my love of outdoor pursuits: skiing, walking and climbing. Now retired, I seldom leave home without a camera and I find images in unexpected places and from different genres. I work on the premise that Photography is Art and that creativity is dependent on the cultivation of 'A Seeing Eye'. I'm not averse to manipulating images to produce derivatives that may sometimes be far removed from the original.
This entry was posted in Architecture & Buildings, London, Seen on the Street and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Blue Hues

  1. Mark says:

    Very nice colours Andy.

  2. oneowner says:

    No need to “correct the verticals”, it’s fine just the way it is. I gave up trying to get it right in camera everytime when I got more proficient in digital editing. It’s very liberating.

Comments are closed.