Twelve from Twelve

And so we come to the last day of 2012. I can hardly believe it: another year gone. Time for a review of this past year. I file all the images that I ‘post’ on this blog in a separate folder on my hard drive, and in the chronological order in which they were posted. That way I can glance back through the year and see what I’ve been up to.

Increasingly the images that give me the most pleasure are the ones that happen – the ones I’m not expecting, the ones that are due to serendipity, sometimes the result of not just carrying the camera but having it switched on and ready to shoot in an instant. So here are twelve images (shot since Jan 2012), that have been posted through the year, and that have given me real pleasure to stumble upon. These are the images that are, I believe, the consequence of deliberately trying to cultivate a ‘seeing eye’ – searching for images in the world around me, seeing it through eyes that search for rectangular snippets from the world through which I travel. I hope you enjoy them.

Don’t forget you can click any image for a higher quality enlargement.

Last January we re-visited a local lake late in the afternoon and discovered this extraordinary fresco on one of the pillars of an overpass. The light beyond was magical.

Post045_IMG_2515_Crop

A few weeks later I was skiing in Zermatt and on descending back to the village on a misty day, I looked up at the Matterhorn and saw this  ethereal image. Magical light again.

Post053_IMG_2640

In our travels to Europe we pass through Geneva Airport regularly. This used to be a dire place to spend a couple of hours – not so now. I look forward to leaving the wife with the luggage and walking through the departure lounges looking for reflections. This was one of the first I found and remains one of my favourites.

Post061_IMG_2828

Not long after that image I was back at Heathrow Airport late at night in the Arrivals lounge – hardly anyone else was there. I pocketed the camera ‘just in case’ and found this:

Post075_IMG_2862

Visiting the V&A Museum in London I was in one of the main eating areas and was amused by the juxtaposition of this partially clad, confused-looking lady amongst everyday folk. It immediately suggested to me the concept of mistaking the ‘Dress Code’.

Post086_DSC2000_Final

The next image is the only one in this set that was the result of a specific shoot: to experiment with panning,  but this avenue of trees was not something I expected.  I like the fluidity of the ground that suggests that the trees are growing in a swamp – whereas it is in fact dry ground.

Post099_DSC2412_Art

 A trip to Hidcote and I saw the potential for an image at the far end of the garden and waited for a figure to pass this spot (actually my wife).

Post119_DSC2891

Back in London at the Photographers Gallery just off Oxford Street I walked back up the staircase, camera in hand and switched on, and walked into the top gallery. A man stood at the window looking out. I had less than five seconds to grab this before he turned.

Post139_IMG_3172

Back in Zermatt in the summer, another unexpected find as we walked under a high wire in an Adventure park. A quick scurry around was required to line up the high wire walker and the sun to grab this image.

Post144_DSC3321

‘Grab’ is the operative word for the next image too. Descending the main staircase at ‘Charlecote Park’ I looked back up at the vast sweep of the staircase and the net curtains beyond, just as a man came in to view. He tilted his head very obligingly at precisely the right moment.

Post168_DSC_3864_crop

A few weeks later I was at Hampton Court Palace on a guided tour. A place that must see thousands of images taken every day. I wanted something slightly different. The guide was talking, I turned round to see this lady taking an image through the window.  It was just the image I was looking for.

Post189_DSC_4332_1F

Finally Autumn. My wife suggested I should go to the Supermarket car-park for some images of the Autumn leaves. I did as she suggested although the light was not good and I was not optimistic. There was little that attracted me until I spotted this leaf spinning on a spider’s filament in mid air. On most occasions I would have swotted this away but something about it attracted my attention. A single leaf suspended.

Post196_DSC_4474

Twelve from Twelve. What will the new year bring? One thing is for certain – a fact that will ring true with all of you who read this – what we image in the coming year will include many images we never expected to find. We just have to be alive to the possibilities that come our way.

A very Happy New Year to you all. And thanks for viewing. If you want to stay in touch then do please click the Subscriptions widget in the sidebar and sign up.

About LensScaper

Hi - I'm a UK-based photographer who started out 45+ years ago as a lover of landscapes, inspired by my love of outdoor pursuits: skiing, walking and climbing. Now retired, I seldom leave home without a camera and I find images in unexpected places and from different genres. I work on the premise that Photography is Art and that creativity is dependent on the cultivation of 'A Seeing Eye'. I'm not averse to manipulating images to produce derivatives that may sometimes be far removed from the original.
This entry was posted in A Personal Viewpoint and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Twelve from Twelve

  1. oneowner says:

    What a great selection, Andy. Happy New Year.

  2. rigmover says:

    Superb set Andy, Have a great new year.

  3. Great pictures, as always. Have a super 2013 Andy.

  4. Great images Andy – looking forward to more in 2013.

  5. Nice photos, Andy. And Happy new Year!

  6. ehpem says:

    This is a great selection – several of these I recall from when I first saw them – especially your panning experiment. I missed the January shot the first time around; it is a perfect example of finding the unexpected and a terrific shot for what must have been a tricky exposure. Happy New Year, I look forward to seeing what 2013 brings from you.

    • LensScaper says:

      Thanks very much Ephem. Yes that first shot was tricky. I never use HDR and the exposure was impossible to manage in one shot. I used some fill-in flash to help. But I ended up cloning some of the water to extend the colour so as to leave as litle ‘burnt out’ view through. Hopefully you can’t see where it was done!

      • ehpem says:

        Not a trace visible to my eye. Interesting approach to the problem as well. I thought it looked like you had used flash, but interesting that was not enough to really do the trick. Sure worked out well.

  7. seekraz says:

    I remember many of these images, Andy…the one of your wife passing the garden gate specifically…I have had my eyes open for similar shots ever since…my slow camera missed a jogger on a forested trail a few months back, but I did manage to capture a silhouette of a person moving through the opening canopy over a snowy trail very recently…. Thank you for the inspiration, as always…and will look forward to visiting with you in the next 12 months, as well.

    • LensScaper says:

      Thanks Scott. I’d hung around waiting for others to cross the gap at the end of the garden and photographed a few – but none of them turned out right. So I dispatched the wife with strict instructions to walk purposefully across and back. She did alright!

      • seekraz says:

        Yes, I would say that she did alright…. 🙂 The two of you combined to provide me with a bit of inspiration…will be posting my version of it very soon…..

  8. LensScaper says:

    Thanks you Bente. Happy New Year to you too.

  9. Jim Nix says:

    that is a great collection of images mate, well done in 2012 and here’s to a big 2013 as well!

Comments are closed.