Hoar Frost_2

I’m late with my mid-week post. It’s been one of those days. We are dog-sitting my daughter’s 8 month old Entelbucher puppy this week and that means there are some alterations to daily events. Plus we are in the middle of a very cold few days and that seems to bring out the Hibernator in me. Also I had a Post in mind for today but I was struggling to get the writing done.  And then the weather threw a spanner in the works – actually a nice spanner.

When I surveyed the landscape at 7am today I saw Hoar Frost – the result of a combination of frost and freezing fog. We had a winter wonderland outside. So late this morning I took the dog for his daily walk (about 3 miles) round the edges of the village. It’s a walk I often take. I took the Canon G10 with me. Ever tried taking pictures when struggling to control an inquisitive dog on a lead in one hand, and with the other shoot pictures? It’s not easy.

IMG_3798_wp

But I stopped in a stand of Poplars where small oak trees are growing and shot some images of the frosted leaves. The light was not that good, the sun was not shining and the leaves lacked sparkle. For the second of these I used a little bit of fill-in flash.

IMG_3800_wp

Compare those images with two other images (below) that I shot almost exactly 2 years ago in the same wood on another day of superb Hoar Frost when the sun was shining out of a clear blue sky. Click here to see the other images I posted from that same day.

DSC_8695_wp

DSC_8685_wp

What a difference light makes to images like these. The warm afternoon sun, and the translucency of the leaves combined beautifully two years ago. Those images are bright, loud almost, the ones I shot today subtle and subdued. It’s interesting to re-visit and reshoot almost, but not quite, the same branches with a new set of leaves. Life is never ever quite the same.

About LensScaper

Hi - I'm a UK-based photographer who started out 45+ years ago as a lover of landscapes, inspired by my love of outdoor pursuits: skiing, walking and climbing. Now retired, I seldom leave home without a camera and I find images in unexpected places and from different genres. I work on the premise that Photography is Art and that creativity is dependent on the cultivation of 'A Seeing Eye'. I'm not averse to manipulating images to produce derivatives that may sometimes be far removed from the original.
This entry was posted in Winter and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Hoar Frost_2

  1. ken bello says:

    A great set of images, Andy, especially the back-lit ones. They’re both cold and warm at the same time.

  2. Steenie320 says:

    Reblogged this on Steenie's photography blog and commented:
    Just think you should see the beautiful images in this blog, simple and exciting, and oh so warm and snugly – hence the reblog. Xxx

  3. superb photoset…you have certainly captured the cold winter outdoors!

  4. Great stuff Andy, and a great eye for detail!

  5. seekraz says:

    This subject used to exist for me only in books…and now with having lived here in the Salt Lake City area for the past three winters, it has become a reality…very nice, Andy…fascinating.

  6. rigmover says:

    You did very well, with the dog and all.

  7. Well done…dog and all. I love the light and detail in the 3rd image.

  8. munchow says:

    It’s always an interesting exercise to revisit our shooting grounds – so to speak. Although the pictures taken two years ago have some lovely light, there is something special about the new pictures. Light might not be as interesting and beautiful, but the diffused and hazy light makes it look desperately cold. Of course the frost on the leaves tells the same story. As does the cold, bluish cast. My favourite is the first one.

    • LensScaper says:

      Many thanks Otto. It was certainly cold! The light is never the same. I felt slightly cheated at first glance on my second visit, but when I started to process the images I realized that I had a couple of images that were altogether different.

Comments are closed.