Love is…

Today’s image is of a famous sculpture by American artist Robert Indiana simply called ‘LOVE’. (Click here for further information). I am sure most of you will be familiar with this design. It has become an iconic graphic image over the years. The original design dates back to 1964 when is was first produced as a Christmas card. A three dimensional sculpture was created later  and the original is on display at the Indianapolis Museum of Art. Reproductions and other versions have been displayed around the world.

The one you see here today (click the image to see an enlargement) is currently on display at Waddesdon Manor near Aylesbury, built in the 1870s for Baron Ferdinand de Rothschild. We stumbled upon this quite by chance when we visited it 10 days ago. I don’t recall seeing it previously in its three dimensional form. Behind it was a statue of a mother and child and it took me a while to work out the best position to shoot this so that the statue was framed by the modern sculpture in a pleasing way.

About LensScaper

Hi - I'm a UK-based photographer who started out 45+ years ago as a lover of landscapes, inspired by my love of outdoor pursuits: skiing, walking and climbing. Now retired, I seldom leave home without a camera and I find images in unexpected places and from different genres. I work on the premise that Photography is Art and that creativity is dependent on the cultivation of 'A Seeing Eye'. I'm not averse to manipulating images to produce derivatives that may sometimes be far removed from the original.
This entry was posted in Art and Scultpure and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Love is…

  1. Len says:

    Excellent image Andy. Like the placement of the statue above the L. I remember this statue from the 1980’s when I worked in Philadelphia. Probably not the original.

  2. Marcie says:

    One of my favorite pieces of ‘pop’ art. ‘Love’ it!

  3. I really like the way you’ve framed the mother and child – it’s the perfect touch for a photo of this sculpture.

  4. seekraz says:

    I like it a lot, Andy…and well framed. I had never seen the sculpture before, was only familiar with it as an image on stamps over here…probably several years ago.

  5. oneowner says:

    Great POV on this, Andy. The LOVE is a classic.

Comments are closed.