Leaf Litter

We are getting to the stage in Autumn when there are more leaves on the ground than are left on the trees. In parks and gardens you can scuff your feet through those rustling heaps of leaves. On pavements and paths the leaves are slowly being pulped and mushed by our feet. Soon there will need to be the big annual clean-up.

Among all that detritus there are little gems of colour. One of the pleasures of Autumn is that the wind mixes up all those falling leaves from a variety of trees. If you are clever enough, which I’m not, you can stare at a yard square patch of ground and identify leaves from a range of trees that nature has chosen to rearrange.

And occasionally there are compositions created by this random re-distribution. As others have noted recently, these aren’t easy to find, but once in a while you find a little patch of colour that says ‘choose me’. So I chose this little patch.

click the image for a better quality enlargement

About LensScaper

Hi - I'm a UK-based photographer who started out 45+ years ago as a lover of landscapes, inspired by my love of outdoor pursuits: skiing, walking and climbing. Now retired, I seldom leave home without a camera and I find images in unexpected places and from different genres. I work on the premise that Photography is Art and that creativity is dependent on the cultivation of 'A Seeing Eye'. I'm not averse to manipulating images to produce derivatives that may sometimes be far removed from the original.
This entry was posted in Autumn and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Leaf Litter

  1. Len says:

    Very nice image Andy. Autumn is my favorite time to shoot and it is always sad to see it go.

  2. oneowner says:

    This has been one of the best fall seasons for colorful foliage and a lot of photographers have taken advantage of the fact. This is is a great example.

    • LensScaper says:

      Our Fall has not been blessed with sunshine, in fact it’s been distinctly absent and that makes a huge difference in one’s appreciation of such a colourful season. What a shame.

  3. Phillip says:

    Beautiful image Andy. I love how the wetness brings out the color of leaves. Wonderful job.

  4. Jim Denham says:

    You know, I never get tired of these types of pics – The red stems are way cool! Good stuff!

  5. seekraz says:

    Well done, Andy…a beautiful time of year, too….

  6. Very beautiful compostition. I guess “someone else” did it, but you found it. Very good.

Comments are closed.