Hanging by a Thread

I don’t always listen to my wife’s advice, but on this occasion she was right, and I’m glad I did. Last Friday she arrived home from our local supermarket with a week’s worth of food and told me that the Acers in the supermarket car-park were beautiful and I should go and see them even though the light was dull.

I was sceptical; but the following day I went down there on another dull day. She was right: the Acers were remarkable despite totally flat light and in the spirit of ‘nothing ventured, nothing gained’ I started to take some images. And then I saw a solitary leaf  hanging under a tree suspended in space. It would have been so easy to miss it, or simply brush it aside.

One small leaf, on a slender thread of Spider’s silk at chest height. Just hanging there, defying gravity. Not easy to capture a clean shot. It spun, it swung. It just would not stay still. I wound the ISO up to 800 and got a shutter speed of 1/45 at F9.5. I set the shutter on Continuous and the Autofocus to track. And fired a series of bursts as the leaf danced on its thread. Out of 20 shots, I got one that was sufficiently sharp to present to you today.

I must mention a strange coincidence. I’ve followed Marcie Scudder’s blog for many months. There’s no-one who combines images and writing in such an extraordinary way as Marcie does. If you haven’t come across her blog you’ve missed something special. Last week Marcie published an image of a falling leaf that grabbed my attention. Click here to view that post.  The moment I saw this leaf I thought of Marcie and was inspired to start shooting. Thank you Marcie.

About LensScaper

Hi - I'm a UK-based photographer who started out 45+ years ago as a lover of landscapes, inspired by my love of outdoor pursuits: skiing, walking and climbing. Now retired, I seldom leave home without a camera and I find images in unexpected places and from different genres. I work on the premise that Photography is Art and that creativity is dependent on the cultivation of 'A Seeing Eye'. I'm not averse to manipulating images to produce derivatives that may sometimes be far removed from the original.
This entry was posted in Autumn, Microscapes and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to Hanging by a Thread

  1. rigmover says:

    A great shot Andy, well seen and captured.

  2. beautiful! sums up autumn perfectly.

  3. Great shot. Autumnal without the cliche! Cheers.

  4. Len says:

    Wonderful image Andy. The bokeh is outstanding. It amazes me how strong a spider’s web really is.

  5. Marcie says:

    This is exquisite. Such perfect simplicity…and just think – you almost missed it (every once in awhile it’s a good thing to listen to our significant others – y’know???…). Well seen!! And thanks for the shout-out – :-)!!!

  6. Well done Andy – your persistence paid off.

    A great image by Marcie as well!

  7. oneowner says:

    Very nice, Andy. You nailed this one!

  8. Fantastic shot Andy. Great capture.

  9. seekraz says:

    What a find, Andy…and thank you for the link to Marcie’s blog…gorgeous photos…and wonderful words…something to aspire to….

  10. What a great find and a beautiful shot Andy. Thanks for telling us about Marcie’s site. I can see why you like it.

  11. ehpem says:

    Very nice! And your resisted the temptation to clone out the spider’s web and pretend it was caught mid-flight.

    • LensScaper says:

      Thanks – yes, I was in two minds whether to leave the suspension thread in the shot. But without it, it looks as if it is just a montage.

      • ehpem says:

        I was partly sending a small dig in the way of Oneowner Ken who recently used a suspended leaf to fake (yes, to actually deceive!) the capture of a falling leaf mid air. He did fess up in a later post.
        But I like the idea of a montage that is not a montage – another kind of visual trickery that could be quite interesting.

Comments are closed.