Sun, sea, sand, and ripples

If you’ve been following my blog this week you will know there has been a common, but somewhat contrived, thread to a trilogy of Posts of which this is the last. ‘Undulation’ is the word I’ve used to link them. First there was undulating water in Fast Flowing Water. Then undulating hills in Light on Green. And today it’s a rippled beach on a fine day.

Today’s image comes from Cleveleys, just North of Blackpool on the Lancashire coast. We stopped off here on our return south from the Lake District for our annual visit to Bispham cemetery to say ‘Hello’ to my wife’s parents who were born and spent much of their lives in Lancashire including Blackpool.

The beach along miles of coastline in this area is of pristine near-level sand. When the tide goes out it goes OUT a very long way, And when the conditions are right, when the breeze blows, the sand is ruckled, and seawater pools in the hollows. All you need then is Sun and you have a dazzling display of light. A photographer’s delight.

We didn’t have long on the beach but there was enough time to get this shot. It needed people, and three was enough – the fourth has been exterminated in the processing.  It was difficult to get the right colour balance and I have opted for a slightly high key result which I hope gets across the lightness, brightness, and consequentially I hope, the overpowering feeling of delight that scenes like these can bring.

About LensScaper

Hi - I'm a UK-based photographer who started out 45+ years ago as a lover of landscapes, inspired by my love of outdoor pursuits: skiing, walking and climbing. Now retired, I seldom leave home without a camera and I find images in unexpected places and from different genres. I work on the premise that Photography is Art and that creativity is dependent on the cultivation of 'A Seeing Eye'. I'm not averse to manipulating images to produce derivatives that may sometimes be far removed from the original.
This entry was posted in Landscapes and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Sun, sea, sand, and ripples

  1. Len says:

    Very cool shot Andy. Wonderful details in the foreground and the inclusion of the person gives the image some scale.

    • LensScaper says:

      Many thanks Len. I felt it really needed some people to help anchor it. Although I suspect others would argue that they detract from the simplicity of the composition

  2. Wonderful composition Andy. I like the way the sand, sea and sky all become one.

  3. rigmover says:

    Yes great shot, works equally well with less sky and less foreground, so 3 great shots.

    • LensScaper says:

      Thanks Mark. I hadn’t really given much thought to slimming it down, but having taken another look, a slimmer version losing some sky and some sand does give a panoramic feel.

  4. I’ve enjoyed all three of your undulations, Andy. Looking forward to the fourth and fifth in the series! (Thanks for teaching me the word “ruckled.”)

  5. seekraz says:

    Very nice, Andy…and I like that you have figures in this one…I’ve come to appreciate that bit of perspective that they give…not close enough that they have become the subjects of the image, but simply there to give us an appreciation for the scale. I like it a lot.

Comments are closed.