One Year On

It’s a year to the day (23 Sept) since I launched this blog and wondered if it would turn out to be a very bad idea, a waste of time and effort, or a moment of madness that would see the blog soon abandoned. What did I think would happen? Sadly I didn’t write down a prediction for a year later, and if I had I am sure it would have been wildly wrong.

[click any image in this post to see an enlargement – you will see a better quality image]

Dawn from the Matterhorn – click to enlarge

The bare statistics (182 posts, 19,000 hits) tell one story but not the full one: which is that I have been inspired by the contacts I have formed and maintained with many fellow photographers scattered around the globe. A fresh gallery of images lands in my Inbox every day: I find exposure to the many different genres of photography – examples of which I see daily – is the lifeblood of inspiration. Over 200 people now subscribe to my blog. I value and greatly appreciate those of you who visit or comment or ‘like’ my work. In return I have been delighted to post my thoughts and appreciation of your photography. Thank you all for sharing and being a part of an extraordinary journey over the last year.

Ama Dablam, Solo Khumbu, Everest region. Viewed from the NW, from near Pheriche.

I know that the scope, range and processing skills of my output has benefited from the last year – I have learnt a lot through inter-action with you all. We never stop learning. My photography has never been so catholic, or my tastes so eclectic.

Sometimes I wish I was single-minded in my style and I admire those who have found a genre that they have made their own and for which they are ‘known’. But then I was never one to stay fixed for long – I have always sought new challenges or opportunities and that mind-set leads me naturally to want to capture ‘images’ when and wherever they happen to be. Photography has never been so much fun as it is now.

Rush hour on ‘White Hare’ – click to enlarge

And so to the images that populate this Anniversary post (with links to the original Posts if you wish to read more). It’s been difficult to select just 13 – from the 11 full months and two part months that this blog has been running – from over 600 images that I have posted. I’ve chosen a set that dips into the various areas of photography that interest me, and to some extent they outline my photographic journey over the last 45 years or so.

Starting from the top of this post. The first image is from my very first post  – In the Beginning – showing the extraordinary Dawn seen from the Matterhorn Hut back in the late 1960s. That, and the second image taken in the Himalayas, which I visited for the first time in 1969 (Like Father like Son) were the driving force behind my love of High Mountains and the desire to capture them on camera. I also learnt to ski as a teenager and although pressure of work meant winter holidays were in abeyance for many years, those days are over and I now ski at least twice a year. A camera is always with me and B&W images from the ski slopes (image 3 above from On the Piste in Black and White) take me back to the days when my output was predominantly home produced 20”x16” B&W prints. It’s hardly surprising that with my love of high mountains, places like Chamonix, Saas Fee and particularly Zermatt are like second homes to us now. The Matterhorn in particular never ceases to inspire. Image below from  The Love of High Mountains.

The Matterhorn from Rotenboden

Closer to home, it’s the beauty of the changing of the seasons that inspires. Whether it is the translucent leaves and Blossom of Spring, the colours of summer, or the last leaves of Autumn – image below from Mirroring Autumn captured with a 500mm Mirror lens.

The last leaf of Autumn – click to enlarge

Even in the depths of winter a local walk at sundown, with hoar frost still on the ground can result in atmospheric images. Image below from Hoar Frost.

Poplars at Sundown – click to enlarge

In retirement, there is plenty of time to take life at a more leisurely pace and visit new places any day of the week, and to enjoy the art of others in outdoor installations. The image below called ‘The Kingdom’ by Paul Fryer exhibited at Sudeley Castle impressed me greatly. See Installations of Outdoor Art.

And sometimes it is intriguing just to stand and watch our fellow art lovers in their travels around museums. This next image from the Ashmolean in Oxford. Visiting the Museum.

Passing over – click to enlarge

Now that I seldom go anywhere without a camera in my pocket, my ‘Seeing Eye’ alights on Images in unexpected places – particularly show windows. The next image is one of my favourites, posted in Window Dressing.

The Clutch Bag – click to enlarge

And occasionally there are people to be found. This child’s delight at running between the fountains in a London square being an example. See Fountains of Fun.

Fountains of Fun – click to enlarge

Geometry, design, or line are features I am always on the look out for. Sometimes I find this in London’s  tall buildings, as in this image of the Wellcome Trust HQ on Euston Road. See Glass Houses.

Staircase – click to enlarge

Or in an unusual one, where processing – in this case Solarization – exploits the design features and brings them into dramatic focus. See Exoskeleton.

Exoskeleton – click to enlarge

Finally it is the incidental findings –  the visual abstracts – that I go looking for and find in the most unlikeliest of places. This last image from Waiting to Fly being of Geneva Airport.

Colour Blocks – click to enlarge

There will be more of all these genres to come in the year ahead, I confidently hope. It has been good to have your company during the last year. Thanks to you all. Stay tuned.

If you are new to this blog, why not use the widget in the sidebar to sign up to receive an email notification of all my new posts.

About LensScaper

Hi - I'm a UK-based photographer who started out 45+ years ago as a lover of landscapes, inspired by my love of outdoor pursuits: skiing, walking and climbing. Now retired, I seldom leave home without a camera and I find images in unexpected places and from different genres. I work on the premise that Photography is Art and that creativity is dependent on the cultivation of 'A Seeing Eye'. I'm not averse to manipulating images to produce derivatives that may sometimes be far removed from the original.
This entry was posted in A Personal Viewpoint and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

37 Responses to One Year On

  1. Mark says:

    Great photo’s, great read, here’s to another year.

  2. I have thoroughly enjoyed reading your posts and seeing your superb photos – always very interesting and very well taken, never mundane or boring. The nice thing about blogging is making new friends and, if you are like me it gives you a focus for your writing and photography. Here’s to many more years!

  3. Your photos of the mountains feed my desire for climbing. Unfortunately this year some circumstances made me to neglect my passion for mountains. Every time you post photos with mountainous scenery my climbing appetite grows. Hope this winter I’ll get some nice climbing session 😀 Thanks for your photography !!!!

  4. oneowner says:

    Congratulations on your first anniversary. It’s been a a year filled with some great images and excellent writing and I am looking forward to another good year. Keep up the good work.

  5. andybeel says:

    Congratulations I love your Rush Hour picture – thanks. Andy

    • LensScaper says:

      Thanks very much Andy. It took a few shots to get all the skiers nicely lined up in ‘Rush Hour’. A huge Cable Car carries up about 100 at a time and then they all come down in a ‘volley’. I tend to set the camera shoot mode to ‘continuous’ and fire away. Sometimes I get lucky!

  6. Congratulations and Happy Anniversary Andy. Wonderful images you’ve included today. I’ve truly enjoyed following your blog and look forward to doing so as you start your second year of blogging.

    • LensScaper says:

      Thanks so much Edith. I think you’ve been with me since Day 1! Many thanks for all your encouragement, mentions on Twitter etc, it has all been much appreciated.

  7. I came to your blog via a tweet by Edith Levy. I’m glad I did. Great post – outstanding photography!

  8. Congratulations on the big blogging milestone. I’ve enjoyed your photos and writing, and look forward to more of the same.

  9. Len says:

    Congratulations on your first anniversary Andy. Your thoughts about what you discovered along the way mirror mine. It has been fun to follow you and learned new things from you. I think that is a major reason why I continue to blog. Here is to another year…

  10. ehpem says:

    Its been a very good first year. I have found inspiration on these pages, and very much appreciate your eclectic approach. I am sure year two will be every bit as successful.

  11. seekraz says:

    All wonderful photos, Andy. It’s always been a pleasure visiting, admiring your work, and picking-up tidbits and tips that I can use with my own photos. Thank you for sharing as you have done over the past year. I wish you continued enjoyment and success for many more. Congratulations.

  12. Happy Birthday, Andy!!

    A great blog, one of my favourites – always a delight to see a ‘new post’ notification 🙂

    Here’s to another good year (and more!)

  13. Eden says:

    Many congrats on the anniversary, and may you have another great year to come! Lovely work.

  14. Happy Anniversary, Andy!
    It’s been a successful first year for this site and I know that will continue. Great work, man. Looking forward to your continued success. Excellent post, my friend.

  15. Wonderful year in review Andy! What a lovely post and images! Thanks so much for sharing with us, and I look forward to many more years to come! 🙂

  16. Rick says:

    Congrats on One Year! Love that image of Ama Dablam

    • LensScaper says:

      Many thanks Rick. Ama Dablam is a suoerbly photographic mountain – this is not the normal view of it, but taken from this angle it stands aloof and the cloud and the light were perfect.

  17. Congratulations on the wonderful milestone, Andy! It’s been us who have been the recipients of your great posts and photography, each and every one can stand on it’s own. Really looking forward to what the next year brings!

  18. Andy I think that with your blog, you have only gained a lot, as you will have understood by now too. You had enriched yourself creatively, technically and certainly on a personal level. I see that in a year you have posted a lot and sincerely I envy you for that :-). I wish I could dedicate more time to photography and of course to the blog, but with my work and other personal commitments I had lately, it has become a hard job to keep it updated (as you has certainly noticed). However, in my case: I will not give up, I realized that enriches me in many ways and I could find only positive feedbacks. So in your case: please continue to amaze us with your photos and your stories! Greetings! 😉

    • LensScaper says:

      Leo, thank you so much for your kind comments. I could not possibly have done what I have done over the last year if I was still in full-time employment. Running a blog can be really time consuming, and occasionally my wife objects to the time I spend on it, but thankfully she appreciates also how much the blog means to me – and she sees the results.

Comments are closed.