Torrent

One from the archives today, taken three years ago in the Autumn of 2009, just a couple of weeks before floods caused massive damage to areas of the Lake District especially in Cockermouth.

This image was taken on our return over the Honister pass into Borrowdale after visiting Cockermouth. River levels were already high and we stopped at the foot of the pass for me to get some images of the torrent called Hause Gill. I don’t often take long exposures but the river at this point looked ideal for this type of shot.

I re-processed this image just a few days ago and what you see here is the re-processed version. I then looked back at my original processed image from 3 years ago. Illuminating to do that – if nothing else it shows how my processing skills have improved and how I can now produce a much better balanced image. As I’ve said before – we never stop learning…

About LensScaper

Hi - I'm a UK-based photographer who started out 45+ years ago as a lover of landscapes, inspired by my love of outdoor pursuits: skiing, walking and climbing. Now retired, I seldom leave home without a camera and I find images in unexpected places and from different genres. I work on the premise that Photography is Art and that creativity is dependent on the cultivation of 'A Seeing Eye'. I'm not averse to manipulating images to produce derivatives that may sometimes be far removed from the original.
This entry was posted in Landscapes and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Torrent

  1. Mark says:

    I never saw the original but this one sure looks nice.

  2. excellent…looks cold and clear, just how I like it…

  3. oneowner says:

    I find images of flowing water such as this to be very relaxing. Nice processing, too.

  4. seekraz says:

    Beautiful image, Andy…I love those flowing streams…so peaceful…yet holding such power.

    • LensScaper says:

      Thanks Scott. Got a few ‘flowing water’ images today and will upload them onto the iMac when we are home and see what they look like. One of them looks promising on the Nikons’ screen

  5. Nice one Andy. You set the bar high, I’ll have to go and find a stream in spate – now, where can I possibly do that in the UK this week!! (Sent from a flooded Devon!)

  6. Love this image, Andy, well done my friend!!

Comments are closed.