Reflecting the Neighbourhood

We were in London last Friday to see the ‘Heatherwick Studio’ exhibition at the V&A. This runs until the end of September and if you have the opportunity, do see it. Heatherwick Studio designed the stunning Olympic Cauldron for the London 2012 Olympics – so unless you have been deprived of TV for much of the last six weeks you will have seen that. They have done much more besides – all their work is driven by the same extraordinary ingenuity, the ability to think outside the box, and develop genuinely unique design concepts. The Studio combines the talents of material science, engineering, architecture and design, with a healthy dose of creative curiosity. I came away exhilarated by what I saw.

My wife headed for Oxford Street shops, I headed into the neighbouring streets with the camera, fired with enthusiasm to find something different. This is one of the images I found.

It was late afternoon, the sky was blue, the air was warm, the light was growing golden. Light was bathing the upper levels of buildings and reflecting back and forth. It took me a while to find the right spot to shoot this to get the reflections I wanted, and then it has had fairly major ‘lens correction’ in Photoshop – I wanted straight verticals. It struck me as a bit like a series of little windows in an Advent Calendar (do other countries have those?). Each one providing a snippet of a neighbouring property. The colours were strong and varied, the building suitably muted.

And then there was a spine of another building on the left edge. I really wasn’t sure whether to leave that in or remove it, but on balance I felt it helped to anchor the image at that edge. That might be something you disagree with. This took about an hour to get right – balancing the brightness and contrast of the reflected elements. I’m pleased with how it has turned out. Over to you – as always your comments are welcome.

About LensScaper

Hi - I'm a UK-based photographer who started out 45+ years ago as a lover of landscapes, inspired by my love of outdoor pursuits: skiing, walking and climbing. Now retired, I seldom leave home without a camera and I find images in unexpected places and from different genres. I work on the premise that Photography is Art and that creativity is dependent on the cultivation of 'A Seeing Eye'. I'm not averse to manipulating images to produce derivatives that may sometimes be far removed from the original.
This entry was posted in Architecture & Buildings, London and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Reflecting the Neighbourhood

  1. I like this…well spotted!

  2. One of my a level art friends did a whole project on wi does reflected in windows, but what is special here is the 2 contrasting buildings, especially the concrete angles of the reflector!

  3. rigmover says:

    Old with the new(ish) I like it.

  4. I like the Advent Calendar comparison 🙂

    • LensScaper says:

      Thanks Paul. It’s difficult to title and describe some images. But the Advent Calendar analogy struck me as I was processing this. As I moved about in front of this, different windows ‘popped’ to reveal their content.

  5. oneowner says:

    The golden reflections mixed with the blue tint of the windows is beautiful, one of my favorite color combinations.

  6. I love the way the concrete breaks up the reflection. Fantastic shot Andy.

  7. Victoria says:

    Wow, very nice picture!

  8. Well done, Andy!
    I have always been a fan of these reflective architectural images. Each window shows it’s own piece of art. Good stuff.

  9. I could see this as a large print-love it!

Comments are closed.