Instagram Day – #1

I have finally ditched my old phone whose most advanced feature was Predictive Text – that tells you how antique it was. In its place I now have a free iPhone 3 courtesy of my daughter who has recycled her old one – thanks very much Sophie. I have been tutored in the essentials and if I pass the competence test I may be recommended to upgrade to a ‘5’ later this year when the wallet will finally be called into play.

Welcome

In the meantime my stubby fingers are slowly getting to grips with the required techniques to gently stroke and touch (not stab) the correct square millimetre of the screen. It’s a frustrating process at times and I don’t find it particularly intuitive – but then I’m reaching the stage when all new technology seems to assume knowledge I don’t have. I look back with affection to the good old days when software came with a reference manual that sat open on the desk beside the keyboard and to which I could refer.

I now have Instagram – you guessed! And today I exhibit, humbly, my first Instagram images. A bit of trial and error here too – I’m still pressing little icons on the basis of ‘I wonder what happens if I press this’. Half the time it takes me some place I didn’t want to go, but slowly my navigation skills are improving.

This will be an occasional Friday feature when I have something worth showing. That could be a week or a month. Stay tuned. And enjoy your weekend.

Click the first image below and then navigate through the gallery.

About LensScaper

Hi - I'm a UK-based photographer who started out 45+ years ago as a lover of landscapes, inspired by my love of outdoor pursuits: skiing, walking and climbing. Now retired, I seldom leave home without a camera and I find images in unexpected places and from different genres. I work on the premise that Photography is Art and that creativity is dependent on the cultivation of 'A Seeing Eye'. I'm not averse to manipulating images to produce derivatives that may sometimes be far removed from the original.
This entry was posted in iPhone images and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Instagram Day – #1

  1. Good luck with the new phone, Andy – I like things technical, and keep up (after a fashion) with new developments, but I think I would find photo editing on a small screen frustrating. However, I should try it before jumping to conclusions.

    • LensScaper says:

      The editing with Instagram is confined to very few tools. The most useful being cropping, a set of defined filters, and some preset borders. Yes, it’s a bit fiddly – works better with finger nails than fingers.

  2. rigmover says:

    Cool images and good luck with the iPhone, try Camera+ on the iphone, very good, just don’t get cameraPlus it a ripoff.

  3. Len says:

    Nice images Andy. You will love the iPhone after you get used to it. The camera on the iPhone 4s and I am presuming the 5 is incredible.

  4. Great shots Andy. I love “eyes on the table.” You’re going to love the iPhone.

  5. oneowner says:

    Excellent images, Andy. I just downloaded a similar app to Instagram, but i’m still struggling with it. Looks like you have a good handle on it already.

Comments are closed.