Summer Leaves

Sadly the vibrant colours of Spring leaves don’t last long. Within a few weeks they become drab and tired, often diseased, and the victim of the weather. The broad palette of colours is replaced by a very ordinary homogenous green.

That’s a depressing generalisation that can so often be true if we walk around on a cloudy day, or even on a sunny day not thinking about where the sun is in the sky. I have to admit that my interest in the everyday landscape takes a nosedive in summer in the UK for this very reason. The colour is so often muted.

But if we make a conscious effort to walk towards the sun, then you will still find that the leaves light up. Those diseased leaves can shine anew with characterful blemishes of contrasting colour. And suddenly one’s spirits lift and all is well with the world for a brief period of time.

Today’s pair of images were taken last week on a short local walk and hopefully demonstrate how close attention to ordinary trees can pay off, even in summer.

About LensScaper

Hi - I'm a UK-based photographer who started out 45+ years ago as a lover of landscapes, inspired by my love of outdoor pursuits: skiing, walking and climbing. Now retired, I seldom leave home without a camera and I find images in unexpected places and from different genres. I work on the premise that Photography is Art and that creativity is dependent on the cultivation of 'A Seeing Eye'. I'm not averse to manipulating images to produce derivatives that may sometimes be far removed from the original.
This entry was posted in Microscapes and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Summer Leaves

  1. Len says:

    Nice details and textures Andy. It is amazing what we see when we take a closer look at things. Well done.

    • LensScaper says:

      Thank you Len. There is so much more to see, I find, when you walk towards the sun. I would miss so many images if I didn’t do that one simple thing.

  2. rigmover says:

    I think Summer has left. Great shots Andy, detail is awesome.

  3. Jan Winther says:

    Oh no.. its coming isn’t it? Mid July I noticed in my travels that some trees have given up and the leaves started to turn red. I convinced my self that is because of drought, and not because summer is over.,,it better not be. 🙂

    • LensScaper says:

      Thanks Jan. I persuade myself that a lot of it’s due to disease that is causing huge damage to some of our native species. Hopefully we still have a small bit of summer still to come.

  4. Lovely textures. I love how the sun makes the leaves in the second image almost translucent. Well done.

  5. oneowner says:

    I have a ton of leaf images and it’s always pleasing to find someone who also appreciates these little things. This is a nice little collection of images.

  6. Great post. The images are strong but your musings really make them sing.

  7. seekraz says:

    I admire your perspective, Andy…thank you. 🙂

Comments are closed.