Abstract Geometry

click to enlarge

Your first thought on seeing this may be: ‘What the heck is that?’ And my answer would be: ‘Does it matter – would knowing what it is change your opinion of it as an abstract image?’

It’s an image that is simply about colour, geometry and shape. There has been no fancy work to clone out, alter or add content. This is what I saw – subject to basic processing (levels, curves, brightness), a minor adjustment to saturation, and some work to align the image with Lens Correction and Transform plus a slight crop. Lastly, as I often do with this type of work, before sharpening, I added Poster Edge and blended it down to add just a touch of extra bite.

But since you will be wondering, it’s another image from Geneva Airport. This is a reflection that I saw as I was sitting, facing the outside curved glass windows, in one of the circular hubs at which aircraft dock some distance from the main terminal building. The blue girders you see are some of the radial spokes that converge to create the roof. Frankly, when I look at this, some of the other elements puzzle me as I am not entirely sure what they all are, apart from the glass sided staircase that angles up leftwards in the image. But that is all really irrelevant.

What appeals to me is just the arrangement of colours, shapes and lines and the balance that seems to be there through chance.

For other images also taken at Geneva Airport see

As Forrest Gump said: ‘Life’s a box of chocolates, you never know what you’re gonna get’.

About LensScaper

Hi - I'm a UK-based photographer who started out 45+ years ago as a lover of landscapes, inspired by my love of outdoor pursuits: skiing, walking and climbing. Now retired, I seldom leave home without a camera and I find images in unexpected places and from different genres. I work on the premise that Photography is Art and that creativity is dependent on the cultivation of 'A Seeing Eye'. I'm not averse to manipulating images to produce derivatives that may sometimes be far removed from the original.
This entry was posted in Abstractions, En Route and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Abstract Geometry

  1. Len says:

    I really like this abstract Andy. Great lines and angles. I don’t think it matters what it is but for the curious, it is good to know.

  2. oneowner says:

    I think isolating a small portion of a scene and taking it out of the surrounding context may look like an abstraction but it really is’t. It’s as real as any landscape and It’s a beautiful photo. I’d find a place for this on my living room wall.

  3. Wonderful abstract Andy. I really like the different colors in this as well.

  4. Phillip says:

    Wonderful abstract image Andy! Great job.

  5. seekraz says:

    Beautiful photograph…always looking, aren’t you? 🙂

    I like the Forrest Gump reference, too. 🙂

  6. Andy, I love the graphic abstract look!

  7. Very well spotted and captured. I had some idea of what it was before reading the text, but you’re right, it doesn’t matter.

  8. Absolutely amazing shot here, Andy! It really fulfills so many aspects of a great photo, you’ve really outdone yourself here on this one!

Comments are closed.