En Route

We are back home in the UK. Our departure day started earlier than expected at 4AM when a Fire Alarm sounded. Our first reaction was: ‘ Is that really our alarm?’ I opened our door: it was! We were packed, everything ready for departure. What do you wear for a Fire Alarm? We donned the hotel’s standard issue Bathrobe (in white, of course). I grabbed my rucsac in which my camera, lenses, laptop, passports, cards and money were packed (priorities!). My wife grabbed her handbag and we headed down the stairs. No smell of fire: it was a false alarm. We all hung around in the downstairs lounge until cleared to return to our rooms. An opportunity to survey our fellow guests – stripped of makeup and smart evening clothes. Everyone looked just as dishevelled and ordinary as I did – some maybe worse. What a great feeling that was!

The view from Visp station

3 hours later we got up for real. An Electro taxi, two trains, a plane, a bus and finally a car and we reached home. My wife slept through most of it, thankfully I stayed awake, or we might by now be languishing in a railway siding somewhere in Switzerland.

And the sun is shining here in the UK, but we mustn’t get too excited about that – it will still probably rain for the Olympic Opening Ceremony on Friday!

A journey involves a camera. It helps relieves the boredom, if nothing else. The first image (above) was taken at Visp waiting for Train No 2, looking back up the valley we had descended in Train No 1.

And so to Geneva Airport about which I have written before in ‘Waiting to Fly’. I found an interesting mural in a café which I captured in two shots once the people seated in front of it cleared off. I stitched the two together and simplified it down to the barest of images. It really is a simple but effective little graphic.

Then finally we waited in the departure lounge where the two earlier images in ‘Waiting to Fly’ were taken.

This area is a source of unusual images thanks to reflections and tinted glass. I found a number of new images, some of which I will be publishing in the next few weeks, but today’s last two make a specific visual connection with flying.

What are your thoughts on these? Which of these last two do you prefer?

About LensScaper

Hi - I'm a UK-based photographer who started out 45+ years ago as a lover of landscapes, inspired by my love of outdoor pursuits: skiing, walking and climbing. Now retired, I seldom leave home without a camera and I find images in unexpected places and from different genres. I work on the premise that Photography is Art and that creativity is dependent on the cultivation of 'A Seeing Eye'. I'm not averse to manipulating images to produce derivatives that may sometimes be far removed from the original.
This entry was posted in En Route and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to En Route

  1. The second one does it for me Andy.

  2. Len says:

    Ah, the adventures of getting home after a great holiday. You’ve captured the essence with this post Andy.

  3. Douglas and Sally Gordon Boyd says:

    I prefer the second one. too much boring foreground in the top one! Great idea and successful

    • LensScaper says:

      Thanks for commenting Sally. The more I look at these shots, the more I prefer the second one. Geneva Airport is becoming civilised. There are some interesting photographic possibilities, and no-one has told me to stop (yet).

      ________________________________

  4. oneowner says:

    Looks like you used your waiting time to full advantage. Just shows it pays to be prepared for the next good photograph.

  5. rigmover says:

    Glad to hear you are both back home safe and sound,(I hope to be back in the UK tomorrow) I’ve really enjoyed this journey through the mountains with you.

  6. Glad it was a false alarm and glad your home safe and sound. Very interesting captures. Love the last shot.

  7. The second shot resonates more with me Andy. Glad to hear you’re back home safe.

  8. seekraz says:

    Glad you made it home safely, Andy…and I think the second one does it for me, as well. Seems like the emphasis is on the people and the aircraft in proximity to one another…the first shot has too much other “stuff” in it that draws our eyes away from the figures and the planes…to me anyway…. 🙂

  9. Hi Andy. Definitely the second one. More balanced…and most important (in my opinion): it tells a story. Great shot. What about a B&W version?

    • LensScaper says:

      Thanks Leo. before replying I experimented with a B&W conversion but it didn’t look so good. I think the colour is more important than it might seem at first glance.

  10. I really like the last shot Andy. It has so much action in it and a scene everyone can relate to.

Comments are closed.