A leisurely stroll

After yesterday’s lengthy day, my wife and I enjoyed a gentler day today. Cog railway to Riffelalp and then a 40 minute walk to Grunsee – a small lake on the side of the Findeln valley.

In one direction, across the lake, the Matterhorn still has a commanding presence.

Turn through 180 degrees and the Rimpfischhorn fills the picture – one of the mountains on the high ground between the Zermatt and Saas Fee valleys.

Dead centre is the Fluhalp mountain hut, a stunning location for a hut. In the foreground the huge lateral moraines of the ancient Findel Glacier can be seen. Up close they are spectacular almost vertical walls of stone, and grit, somehow held together.

Tomorrow I am off to climb a 4000M peak. Hopefully, weather permitting , tomorrow’s image will be from the summit or close to it

Thank you all for continuing to comment. I will get back to all your Posts when the holiday is over – which will happen all too fast.

About LensScaper

Hi - I'm a UK-based photographer who started out 45+ years ago as a lover of landscapes, inspired by my love of outdoor pursuits: skiing, walking and climbing. Now retired, I seldom leave home without a camera and I find images in unexpected places and from different genres. I work on the premise that Photography is Art and that creativity is dependent on the cultivation of 'A Seeing Eye'. I'm not averse to manipulating images to produce derivatives that may sometimes be far removed from the original.
This entry was posted in MountainScape, Swiss Alps - Summer, Walking in the Alps and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A leisurely stroll

  1. Well up to your usual high standard, Andy!

  2. Len says:

    That looks like a fabulous place for a walk Andy. Have fun on your climb.

Comments are closed.