Balcony Walk

Day 2 in Zermatt has been dry but with a coldish north wind – but warmer weather is on its way. Today I contented myself with a balcony walk, fairly high above the valley.

Wherever you travel within the Zermatt area the Matterhorn is seldom out of view.

High on the balconies, flowers are in full bloom. As you climb higher the plants change but one of the remarkable things is that the entire palette of colours is on display at the same time.

We, in the UK, and I guess elsewhere are used to seeing a gradual emergence of colour: starting with whites and yellows, then blues and then the pinks and reds.

The season in the Alps is concentrated and the colours are all there en masse. It is a feast for the eyes.

About LensScaper

Hi - I'm a UK-based photographer who started out 45+ years ago as a lover of landscapes, inspired by my love of outdoor pursuits: skiing, walking and climbing. Now retired, I seldom leave home without a camera and I find images in unexpected places and from different genres. I work on the premise that Photography is Art and that creativity is dependent on the cultivation of 'A Seeing Eye'. I'm not averse to manipulating images to produce derivatives that may sometimes be far removed from the original.
This entry was posted in MountainScape, Swiss Alps - Summer, Walking in the Alps and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Balcony Walk

  1. First class, as always 🙂

  2. Len says:

    That is one cool location to shoot Andy. I am so excited about my upcoming trip to Switzerland even though I won’t be close to this wonderful mountain. Hope you are having a great holiday.

    • LensScaper says:

      Thanks Len. Having a fantastic time and weather is playing ball too. There is something for everyone out here.

      ________________________________

  3. rigmover says:

    You could post photo’s of the Matterhorn every day for the next year and they would all be stunning. Thanks great shot.

Comments are closed.