The Kiss

Two months ago I posted ‘High Heels’ – a close up of the base of a famous Bronze by Paul Day at St Pancras International Station titled ‘Meeting Place’. Click the link above to read the post or click here to view the image from that post.

As I previously pointed out this magnificent sculpture is commonly known as ‘The Lovers’, and today the camera shifts from feet to faces.

Due to the height of the sculpture and its placement it is not easy to get an unobstructed shot of the entire sculpture and also not easy to view their faces close up. This image is the best I could achieve with the G10 earlier this week, but the angle of view is not especially kind to the couple although I think it is fair to say that from whatever angle they are viewed their features are angular.

But that is part of the modern appeal of this work of art. One thing is certain: there can be no doubt about the couple’s emotional involvement, so clearly evident in this embrace. It’s a sculpture that draws you in, physically and emotionally.

About LensScaper

Hi - I'm a UK-based photographer who started out 45+ years ago as a lover of landscapes, inspired by my love of outdoor pursuits: skiing, walking and climbing. Now retired, I seldom leave home without a camera and I find images in unexpected places and from different genres. I work on the premise that Photography is Art and that creativity is dependent on the cultivation of 'A Seeing Eye'. I'm not averse to manipulating images to produce derivatives that may sometimes be far removed from the original.
This entry was posted in Art and Scultpure, London and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to The Kiss

  1. Mark says:

    Great, they stand out nice against the netting.

  2. Len Saltiel says:

    Excellent details and tones in this Andy. A work of art indeed.

  3. andybeel says:

    Hi Andy nice picture. I wondered what it would look like in the true faith (B&W) with emphasis on the eyes, it would certainly test your post processing skills. Definately a case for Multiply blending mode to darken all the highlights.

    Thinking about this again may be this is a picture that wont work well in B&W because the dark eyes and lips are surrounded by much lighter tones, and effective mono need light surround by dark to glow. Andy

    • LensScaper says:

      Thanks Andy for those interesting ideas. I will take a look at a B&W conversion after my holiday, but I think the problem area is that the eyes are in shadow – actually I don’t think light will ever get to them because of the the way the couples’ heads are turned down. All the light floods in from above onto the tops of their heads. Off to Zermatt tomorrow, currently the sun is shining out there – will promptly disappear when we arrive, I suspect!

  4. oneowner says:

    I think the net behind the sculpture adds a little extra interest to the photo. It certainly is intense.

    • LensScaper says:

      Thanks Ken. I had to crop the image tighter than I would have liked to the sides to get rid of some ugly wall brackets. The net I think is suitably unobtrusive thankfully

  5. seekraz says:

    The embodiment of intimacy.

  6. anorwen says:

    Wonderful close-up! Pinning it on my “Favorite wordpress photos” board! http://pinterest.com/janedegtiareva/great-photos-ii/ 🙂

  7. Phillip says:

    Very interesting Andy. Great job guy!

  8. hdrexposed says:

    This is a really cool shot Andy, well captured. Well done man

Comments are closed.