The End of the Line

It’s Friday again. It’s been a busy week with 19 images posted in my last two blogs. So, time for something simple and short for today.

Click image to enlarge

This image was shot from the window of a speeding Eurostar train two years ago – probably at close to the maximum speed of 186mph as I sped back across France after a ski trip. So of course it was blurred, that was the idea – an experiment capturing blurred rails. At the time I was playing with the camera, just to pass the time. Back home, a bit of Photoshop fun employing the Twirl filter, and this is the image I derived.

The End of the Line – a metaphor, perhaps, for how some of you may feel as you stagger toward the end of the week. Has your brain hit the buffers? Have you reached the end of your patience/energy/creativity? Time to park ‘work’ and enjoy some R&R over the weekend. Have a good one.

About LensScaper

Hi - I'm a UK-based photographer who started out 45+ years ago as a lover of landscapes, inspired by my love of outdoor pursuits: skiing, walking and climbing. Now retired, I seldom leave home without a camera and I find images in unexpected places and from different genres. I work on the premise that Photography is Art and that creativity is dependent on the cultivation of 'A Seeing Eye'. I'm not averse to manipulating images to produce derivatives that may sometimes be far removed from the original.
This entry was posted in Abstractions and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to The End of the Line

  1. Haha – great image Andy, with a touch of humour 🙂

  2. Len says:

    Wasn’t sure what this was and would never have guessed Andy. This is a killer shot – very creative. Absolutely love it.

  3. What a great creation Andy! I would have never guessed it started as a rail line.

    • LensScaper says:

      Many thanks Curt. I admit – it doesn’t look much like a railway line, although you can just see the blurred ghosts of the sleepers across the line.

  4. oneowner says:

    WOW!!! What a fun image. I would frame that.

  5. Great image. Very creative!

  6. I absolutely love this image Andy. Very creative. This would look beautiful on a wall.

  7. I am totally with Edith on this one! Those colors and tones are awesome, and until I read your post in detail I had NO idea what we were looking at! This is a great example of the magic of photography!! Great picture, Andy.

    • LensScaper says:

      Thanks so much Toad. It’s what I do when the TV is boring! Doodle in Photoshop. Glad you like it – these work best when the end result suggests a title.

  8. rigmover says:

    Just reached the of my week, trouble was it lasted 26 days.

Comments are closed.