‘Live’ from London

Today’s Post comes to you ‘Live’ from the Royal Society of Medicine in London where I am (or should that be ‘have been’) speaking to the Camera Club about my experiences of putting my photography on the web: On Flickr, on my own photographic site (LensScapes) and of course on this Photoblog.

As is my usual custom, my text of my Posts are written the day before. So, writing about something that is ‘Live’ today requires some mental gymnastics as ‘Today’ is the Tomorrow I was writing about Yesterday when I penned this post; and as I write I am having to make certain assumptions about how my speaking engagement will turn out.

But since you are reading this, it is a reasonable assumption that the ‘Live’ part of the talk involving a WiFi link worked. That part of my talk has involved practical demonstrations to show how straightforward it is for people with no knowledge of html or other coding systems to upload their images to a variety of sites and write Gallery introductions, and longer pages or articles

And as you will realize, part of that ‘Live’ work has involved uploading an image and the text and combining them into what you are now reading.

It’s a surreal experience to attempt to write about an event that is in the future but which, by the time it is read by you – the reader – will be in the past.

There needs to be a link between the text and the image and I struggled initially to think what that link could be. And then I thought about using an image with a surreal quality to it, and quite bizarrely an image I found in Cavendish Square, just round the corner from the RSM building, fitted the bill perfectly.

Titled ‘Solo II’ it is by the internationally renowned artist Naomi Press. You can find a press release about this installation here, and a link to Naomi Press’s website here. I have deliberately moved in close to this highly reflective work made of polished Stainless Steel because it is the inter-relationship with the surrounding buildings that intrigues me. The effect is akin to a surreal Montage creating an impossible redrawing of the building line.

Sculptures lurk within out cities – surprising us by their beauty. They are easy to miss. If you are in this area of London (one block North of Oxford Street behind John Lewis) do take a look at this. You will not be disappointed.

About LensScaper

Hi - I'm a UK-based photographer who started out 45+ years ago as a lover of landscapes, inspired by my love of outdoor pursuits: skiing, walking and climbing. Now retired, I seldom leave home without a camera and I find images in unexpected places and from different genres. I work on the premise that Photography is Art and that creativity is dependent on the cultivation of 'A Seeing Eye'. I'm not averse to manipulating images to produce derivatives that may sometimes be far removed from the original.
This entry was posted in Art and Scultpure, London and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to ‘Live’ from London

  1. rigmover says:

    Thats a really cool shot, I like that.

  2. hdrexposed says:

    I hope the lecture goes well Andy! Awesome shot here too, love the reflections!

  3. Eden says:

    Awesome reflections in this, Andy!

    • LensScaper says:

      Many thanks, Eden. I hope to re-visit later this summer. Last time I was there it was a hot day and there were crowds of office people all round getting their quota of Vit D.

  4. Wonderful image Andy. I hope the lecture/presentation went well.

  5. Phillip says:

    Love the reflections Andy. Great eye!

  6. seekraz says:

    Intriguing photo, Andy…well done…surreal.

Comments are closed.