Wisteria

For a period of 2-3 weeks from late April to early May the frontage of our house is transformed by a magnificent old Wisteria in full flower that climbs across the front wall. Not only are the pendulous flowers beautiful but they give off a delightful scent.

click to enlarge

This Spring has not been kind to a Wisteria. The warmth of March tricked it into thinking Spring had arrived and so it developed accordingly. It then suffered the cold and rain of April –and stalled uncomfortably. With each occasional dry or warmer day it nudged forward like a child playing a game of Grandmother’s Footsteps only to stand still when the rain and cold returned. Unsurprisingly it has suffered and this year’s flowering has been disappointing: patchy with many buds lost before they ever reached the flowering stage.

The flowering of Wisteria is one of those events that we look forward to with great pleasure every year and sadly this season there have been very few possibilities for any rewarding images. But one of the benefits of a Photographic archive is that one can look back at previous years and enjoy the images captured then.

Today’s images are arranged in a gallery and all (including the one above) come from the previous two years. Click the first image in the gallery and then use the arrows to navigate through all the other images.

Today we are basking in warm sunshine but it’s arrived too late to make a difference to Spring. We must hope that it is the sign of better things to come.

About LensScaper

Hi - I'm a UK-based photographer who started out 45+ years ago as a lover of landscapes, inspired by my love of outdoor pursuits: skiing, walking and climbing. Now retired, I seldom leave home without a camera and I find images in unexpected places and from different genres. I work on the premise that Photography is Art and that creativity is dependent on the cultivation of 'A Seeing Eye'. I'm not averse to manipulating images to produce derivatives that may sometimes be far removed from the original.
This entry was posted in Country Houses & Gardens, Spring and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Wisteria

  1. Great pics! Actually here in northen Italy we are dealing with an unusual spring for the same reasons… too sad, specially since in a few days probably we’re going to pass to the extremely wet and hot summer days (that I don’t love particularly).

  2. Eden says:

    It’s so nice when flowers look nice AND smell good 🙂

  3. oneowner says:

    I planted one wisteria plant at my ole house against a fence. Within a few years the wisteria had covered 3/4th of the fence and was the jewel in the back yard. You have a great one here and the photos are delightful.

    • LensScaper says:

      Thanks very much for commenting, Ken. I’ve no idea how old this Wisteria is, but we have lived in the house for over 30 years and the Wisteria must be at least twice as old as that. One feels a responsibility to make sure it doesn’t die.

  4. seekraz says:

    Well thank you for the post, Andy…now I know the name of some beautiful flowers that I photographed a few weeks ago in front of the bank one morning. It had rained the night before and the sun was crawling into its clear morning sky and the beautiful purple flowers caught my attention…and I had to pull a few blooms to keep in my truck with me as I drove around exploring for a few hours. I already have a drafted post to share them on m blog…and now I know their name. Thank you. 🙂

    • LensScaper says:

      Many thanks Scott. These are beautiful flowers, some blooms are even White. It’s a shame that they last for such a short period of time. I will look forward to seeing your blooms shortly

      • seekraz says:

        You’re welcome, Andy…and beautiful, indeed. I didn’t know they were so short-lived…and happier now knowing that I got some relatively nice shots when they were fresh. I should have my photos up soon….

Comments are closed.