A bit of an argument

I’m not an expert on animal or bird behaviour, but when you pause and watch it, sometimes you form a mental picture of the ‘conversation’ or story that is unfolding before you. Which is usually probably totally wrong, but it’s fun all the same.

We went to Stowe two days ago and watched a couple of Canada Geese with their goslings. All was peaceful, the young grazing on the lush wet grass beside the lake. The proud parents attentively close by. Then the two parents started posturing. Honking at each other – as if arguing. One decided to walk off, hotly pursued by the other. The tension started to rise. Finally it seemed as if they decided to square off and have a damn good argument culminating in this…

The title for this shot has to be ‘Don’t you dare stick your tongue out at me!’

About LensScaper

Hi - I'm a UK-based photographer who started out 45+ years ago as a lover of landscapes, inspired by my love of outdoor pursuits: skiing, walking and climbing. Now retired, I seldom leave home without a camera and I find images in unexpected places and from different genres. I work on the premise that Photography is Art and that creativity is dependent on the cultivation of 'A Seeing Eye'. I'm not averse to manipulating images to produce derivatives that may sometimes be far removed from the original.
This entry was posted in Animals and Wild Life and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to A bit of an argument

  1. Nice catch. The kids don’t seem to be too affected by the argument.

  2. hdrexposed says:

    Now that is just incredible Andy! Perfect timing man, and you couldn’t be more right, they certainly look like they are going at it pretty good!

  3. Len says:

    Great catch here Andy. The one does not look happy. Didn’t know that there were Canadian geese in the UK. Do they need visas?

  4. rigmover says:

    Great shot, I won’t say what it reminds me of incase my wife reads this.

  5. Yup the Canada Geese are definitely vocal if they don’t like something. Wonderful capture Andy.

  6. Quite the argument!!! lol lol.. Great capture!

  7. Victoria says:

    Very nice photo!

  8. Looking at it again, all I can see is her telling him, get your butt to work!!! We have kids to feed! lol

  9. Marcie says:

    What a terrific capture! I – too – have witnessed this kind of rather bizarre Canada Goose behavior. Wonder what it is they’re arguing about?!?!?!

Comments are closed.